Time to talk about my new job! 是時候說說新工作了

In June, I submitted my resign letter and in August, I officially quit my job.

In the last two months, I travelled, got freelance jobs and started some new projects with friends. Finally two months after, I had my new job. What is the job? It’s about tourism.

I first met my new boss 7 years ago and I am friend of her daughter. After I quit my job, she invited me to have a chat. After that, I decided to join her company.

六月,我遞了辭職信,八月,我正式離職。

之後的兩個月,我去了旅遊,嘗試不同的工作,也和朋友搞了些計劃。兩個月過去,我正式回到全職的懷抱了。這次我做什麼?旅遊。

我和我這位老闆大約在七年前認識的,我和她女兒比較熟,所以一直都叫有一條線牽著,直到我離職時,她約了我見見面,之後我決定加入她的公司。

airport-2373727_960_720.jpg

(photo from pixabay)

What is my new job doing?

It is a challenging job. The first business of my company is local tour. But it is not the traditional tour like those 5 days 4 nights or 4 days 3 night. It’s all talking about tours like 3 hours or half day. And I would say it’s a new trend of tourism. New generation like us are not going to join a 5 days tour with schedule all designed by others. We book tickets, hotel and research by ourselves. We may only join a short tour when we find a place interesting and want to know more about that. So it’s what I am going to do. I will be going to design new tour route which may attract young tourists to join.

People always say the tourism of HK is dying. But I wouldn’t say that after I join the industry as I now know the profit within that. Those who say HK tourism dying are only trapped in the old style model. But sorry that I can’t tell the amount here and I can’t tell the boss behind us haha.

所以我的新工作是做什麼的?

這其實是一份挺有挑戰性的工作,這公司第一個業務是本地導賞團,但不是傳統那些五天四夜、四天三夜,讓人家完成決定行程,再帶你地禮品店強逼你購物那些。我們的團都是很短的團,兩三個小時或半天,有些更可能是一個小時內的事情,這將會是旅遊業的新趨勢。新一代如我們,基本都不會報團了,我們自己訂機票酒店,自己上網研究行程,但當我們對某些地方特別有興趣時,我們倒會參加一些導賞團,幾個小時,讓導遊介紹這個地方的故事。這就是我要做的事,設計更多的短導賞團,吸引新一代的遊客參加。

在香港,很多人都覺得旅遊業已死,但當我了解旅遊業的情況後,我發現它根本沒有死,當中的收益及前景還是很大。說旅遊業已死的人,其實都只是被困在上一套過時的做法、模式、觀念,只是迎合潮流改變,這個行業仍大有可行。可惜,我不能告訢大家當中的數字和背後的老闆是誰哈哈。

IMG_0511.jpg

Beautiful? I have been to the Peak 2 times a week!
美嗎?一星期都來兩次了!

The second business is to develop new cooperation with companies that are related to tourism such as restaurant, local culture and lifestyle. It should be totally new for me. I have to spend time on that.

The third business is being a fixer. Fixer is a term of tourism who need to design itinerary and suggest places for interview or shooting for foreign guests like movie or TV production teams. It’s something like what I did but the language is now English haha.

第二個業務是尋找與旅遊有關的公司並洽談合作,它們可以是餐廳、本地文化或生活態度的公司,再放到我們的導賞團中,這對我可說是全新的體驗,相信我要花很長時間去深入了解。

第三個業務則是當fixer,fixer是行內術語,他們的客戶是外國團體,如電影或電視台的拍攝隊伍,為他們設計行程,尋找合適的拍攝場景或訪問對象等等。其實有一點像event planner,不過對像全變成了外國人。

198466_658bda8fd3f1482095c590931e1d7afe~mv2_d_3245_4589_s_4_2.jpg

One of the client is related to Qipao
其中一個客戶就和旗袍有關
(photo from 貳拾年華 https://www.20s.hk)

To have a better development in the industry, I am now studying guide course and going to get the guide license. In the future if you come HK and join a local tour, I may be the guide haha. But being guide is not my main duty so you will be very lucky if I am your guide!

In these few days of work, I tried different part that my company does: meeting with clients, discovering new itinerary, promotion video shooting for new itinerary, and also trying to have briefing in our tours. All are new to me but I would say it’s funny. In steemit, I wrote articles introducing different places of HK and now, I am really introducing HK in my work! It’s an interesting experience and I am now enjoying it.

I don’t know if I will stay in this industry for long but I am quite confident that I will stay it for quite long. So, wish me a good career!

為了在這行業更好發展,我報讀了導遊課程,準備考取導遊牌照。在未來如果你來到香港,參加了一些導賞團,或者我就會是那個導遊了哈哈!不過,導遊是我最次要的工作內容,如果你真的遇著我做你的導遊,那你就真的要買樂透了! > >在這幾次的工作中,我已試了不同的東西:見客、為新行程踩點、拍宣傳影片,更試過在導賞團開始前做簡介 (我沒有牌照還不能帶團)。老實說,挺有趣的。在Steemit,我寫了很多介紹香港地方的文章,倒沒想過在現在,現實中的我在工作中也在介紹香港!倒是有趣有趣,我挺享受。 > >當然,什麼事起初都比較新鮮,我也不敢說我能在這行業待多少年,不過我倒有信心能留下一段長時間,所以,祝我事業順利吧!

Thanks for spending your time to read my articles. I like to share stories of Hong Kong. I wish you may support me and I will keep going!
謝謝你能抽空閱讀這篇文章,我平日喜歡分享香港的故事,希望大家多多支持,我會繼續努力!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://aaronli.vornix.blog/time-to-talk-about-my-new-job/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now