#BeerSaturday - Beer Tour Bottle Shop Finds


zh4.jpg

It is week 380 for #beersaturday and I have to get caught up on some of my bottleshop finds!!

As we all know, being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting or brewing my own beer, my fridge looks like a colorful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I am catching my breath after a slew of regional brewery tours and sampling some of the beers I snagged from the bottle shops.

"image.png"


potw.jpg


IMG_3252.JPG

The Pint of the Week is a foamy highlight in Beerology! What we do is hit the town and enjoy a social pint, which is probably the best way to enjoy a beer. This week, I took my better half out for a little anniversary dinner and a show. A nice local IPA and gourmet burger & fries at Revival House sure was a highlight of the week.


IMG_3249.JPG

As a little bonus, here is the view while enjoying the PotW and earning a little Wifepoints© and listening to a couple friends play in their Blue Rodeo cover band Diamond Mine. I might have to share the whole story on a music post if I can get to it but this was a musical Pint of the Week for sure.
"image.png"

ROAM IPA!


IMG_3241.JPG

This review might set the record for reference links as picked this one up when visiting Haliburton Highlands Brewing (which I will review in coming weeks) but it was actually brewed at Market Brewing Company in Newmarket, and they also list Cascade Brewing on the label, but it has Closed Down? Plenty of steps to this one when they really had me at IPA!

IMG_3239.JPG

Roam IPA was new to me as I had never seen it on the shelves in our area, and I can't recall a beer I have ever sampled from Newmarket. I pass it on the way to cottage country but never slowed down to visit so I had to pick it up. As for the beer, it is a nice one with plenty of haze, solid IPA ABV at 6.5%, and remarkably smooth and subtle on the bitterness. Tropical fruit and a nice texture without being sport hopped at all.

IMG_3240.JPG

The artwork was a little dark & brooding and looks like it was formatted for something besides a beer can but nice and rustic for sure. Maybe not indicative of the light tropical style of the beer but neat nonetheless.

"image.png"

Jackass Brewing!


IMG_3297.JPG

Returning readers might recall a recent trip to Jackass Brewing as told in this #beersaturday post @zekepickleman/beersaturday-hey-jackass-how-about-a-beer I have really come to appreciate their IPAs but had to sample some of their other styles available in the bottle shop.

Since we have been brewing Cream Ale in our brewery lately, Cool Beans Cream Ale seemed like the perfect choice. I have always had time for a good cream ale as they are typically light, slightly sweet, and the good ones are creamy delicious. Ours is.


IMG_3298.JPG

This one was definitely nice as the sweetness was matched with a bit more malt than the typical cream ale with the most subtle trace of caramel. Definitely recommended for the lawnmower beer fans who are sick of the same old Coors bullshit.

IMG_3301.JPG

Along with the cream and a couple IPAs, I threw in a Tommy Bahama Sour I have to e in the mood for a sour as my palate is generally ready for a stiff, bold and bitter IPA when I visit my fridge. This one didn't pour out as bright as other sours and had only the slightest haze so I was not sure what I was in for.

It was plenty sour and the lime & cherry flavours didn't really sweeten it up. They almost accentuated the pucker and it took me plenty of sips to get through this pint. By the end, I was completely accustomed to it and reminded why I enjoy a well-made sour. While I don't generally pick them up at the store, I sure am glad I slip 1 or 2 in the take-away 6-pack when I visit a brewery with a good sour offering. Thanks again Jackass!

"image.png"

#BEERSaturday!




452522856_902202145266134_5075685149508318402_n.jpg

Breakfast in a glass!

Join me, @detlev , and the other beerologists because there is always room for more beer bloggers at this week's Beer Saturday gathering... @detlev/beersaturday-380

Cheers to our global family of beer drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

"text16.png"
"zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

"gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you drink a Cream Ale or a Sour?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center