Beers I have imbibed this week... a short story

This is the beer that I drank on Saint Patrick's Day (natch):

E87DB467-F527-4A0A-9210-1B9B41320D86.jpg

I love the throwback can. Beer can art is experiencing a fine renaissance, which I highly approve of.

And here we have it with all the fixings, in its proper context and glory:

994E7F97-365E-4AA3-BACF-0AD4E4014CEE.jpg

Absolutely delicious. However, side note: I actually prefer Guinness Extra Stout but I couldn't resist this varietal of Guinness this time just because of the can.

Now let's move on to other stuff...

When I asked what was new and "bomb ass" the clerk at my local bottleshop had absolutely no hesitation in directing me straight to Moonraker Fickle Beast. Good grief! Look at the art on the can. Of course, I asked no further questions and purchased it immediately. What's it like? Well, It's a hazy, chewy, psychotic ABV (8.5%) New England style IPA. My review: I found it pretty tasty, but I am starting to get tired of these hazy IPAs. People used to like IPAs because they were bitter. Now people like them because they are sweet. This one is cloyingly so. That's okay, I moved it to the beer reserve in the back of my refrigerator. I will foist it off on unsuspecting guests as a dessert wine or drink it myself when I get desperate. If you can stand the sweetness, Fickle Beast does have all the fruity, spicy aromas and juice power you want (need). It might as well be orange juice with a bouquet garni and several shots of vodka... hmm, I'm making it sound like a disgusting screwdriver drink. Nevermind. If you like hazy IPAs, you'll probably like it so ignore everything I just said.

C3504732-3699-41FA-AB4D-F8AEB2404F08.jpg

E64E02CB-BCA1-497B-B1DF-8B69D9A6E493.jpg

Now, to remember what old fashioned IPAs taste like, I had to crack open some bottles of Pliny the Elder from Russian River. Was it on Tuesday night? Could have been Monday... Anyway, It's reliably good, reliably complex, and bitter. It's like a being punched in the face with hops. Not as fresh or intense as Pliny the Younger though. That said, I recommend everyone reserve at least one entire shelf of their beer refrigerator just for bottles of Pliney. I also recommend everyone buy a full-sized refrigerator (none of those little things) just to host their beers. You can make room.

pliney.jpg

Salut!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center