Travel Requirements to Visit the City of Pines: Baguio

Screen Shot 2021-11-28 at 11.29.48 PM.png

Baguio, a highly urbanized city situated within the province of Benguet just opened its borders to domestic tourists. Having gone there many times, you'd think I'd get tired of it by now, but nope. In fact, I was among those who immediately planned a trip as soon as I heard the news. I have too many memories of this city and I want to make more.

However, since we're now living in the normal and the pandemic is not even close to being over (hello omicron), there are rules that we need to comply with if we want to visit the City of Pines. So that's what I'll be sharing with you today my friends.

Note: If you prefer watching a video instead, check out my YouTube video.

Step 1: Get fully vaccinated

The first requirement ladies and gents is that you're not an anti-vaxxer, I mean you're fully vaccinated. Not sure if this is going to change in the future but for now, this is the first requirement if you want to travel to Baguio. Also, if you're fully vaccinated, they require that two weeks must have passed after your last dose. Get your vaccination ready, you will need it.

Step 2: Schedule a Visit

The second thing you need to do is to schedule a visit via Baguio Visita. Sign up for an account then once logged, click Schedule a visit now. Proceed to complete the rest of the form. You will need to upload your vaccination card as well. Once submitted, you will receive a confirmation via email that they've received your application.

Screen Shot 2021-11-21 at 8.52.08 PM.png

They will review your application and as long as they're able to confirm with your accommodation of choice that you will be staying with them, Baguio Visita will email you the QR code that will allow you entry to the city.

baguio-visita-qr-code.png

Tip: If it's taking a while to receive the QR code, reach out to your hotel/place of accommodation so they can confirm your booking to Baguio Visita.

Step 3: Book a DOT-accredited hotel

I'm not sure how different the procedures would be for those who will stay in free accommodation (e.g. you're staying with a friend/relative) so this guide only covers the one for paid accommodation.

My friends and I stayed at three different hotels, all are DOT-accredited: Sukhavati Inn, The Half House by Elmar Cabin, and Casa Vallejo.

We called up Sukhavati Inn to reserve a room and informed them that we have already scheduled our visit on the Baguio Visita website. As soon as they verified our application, we received our QR code via email.

And that's it folks, easy-peasy. Just do those three things and you're ready to climb the Cordillera mountains.

In my next post, I'll give you a review of all three accommodations that I mentioned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments