Sound Studio Nerdery!

Large_Thumbnail_Overkillcoin.png

Good morning all, last week I got the remainder of my sound equipment and set everything up on saturday. My next task is doing a proper sound test. My room is pretty quiet for the most part. I've shut off the ventilation and covered it up. Road noises aren't too common, and I'm far enough from the local airport to avoid most plane noises.

My main problem has been my notebook, it's like a miniature hair dryer judging by the sound.


Noise Wave Form


n-book-waves.gif

As you'll observe, the notebook is DOUBLE the noise of my desktop. It runs hot just by surfing the webberNets. I placed a quiet(er) fan in a box with sound foam to cool it down, but this hot-headed son-of-a-bee just will NOT pipe down! The external fan adds a bit of extra noise, but worse, it doesn't do anything to calm the notebook's nerves.

So, the notebook can either be rolled out to the hall on its cart every time I record, or more reasonably, I can use the desktop.

Anyways, here are some shots of the completed sound booth


Untitled-3.jpg

That beach towel on the desk is just freakin' insane, but it was a gift, so whatevs... Thanks for dropping by! I'm outta here!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center