Pyrography (The Art of Burning on Wood) - Celtic Spiral

Celtic SpiralTitlepg.png

I have recently taken up a couple of new hobbies - wood turning (more to come) and wood burning.

My Pyrography work is mainly focused on Celtic (and Viking) knotwork designs, which I eventually plan to burn onto finished wood turning projects (wooden bowls, platters and vases) when I feel 100% competent in the craft to not risk ruining a turned wooden bowl which can take between 6-8 hours to complete as a new wood turner.

I thought I would share my ongoing pyrography work with the hive community as I practice this craft.

What is Pyrography?

Pyrography or pyrogravure is the free handed art of decorating wood or other materials with burn marks resulting from the controlled application of a heated object such as a poker. It is also known as pokerwork or wood burning.

The term means "writing with fire", from the Greek pyr (fire) and graphos (writing).[2] It can be practiced using specialized modern pyrography tools, or using a metal implement heated in a fire, or even sunlight concentrated with a magnifying lens. "Pyrography dates from the 17th century and reached its highest standard in the 19th century. In its crude form it is pokerwork.

source: Wikipedia

20240714_155310.jpgMy pyrography machine with a shading nib attached to the 1st pen at high temperature to illustrate how hot the nibs get!

For me, Pyrography is a fantastic meditative aid to igniting creativity.

The process of transferring a design to wood using carbon paper along with the careful application of heat in the main burn, refines focus and sharpens your thought process.

In the final steps of shading and detailing I find a quiet place, where ideas for stories are born, and realization about characters in my writing work are often resolved.

When added to the final satisfaction of the finished piece of art, the whole process of pyrography can be a profoundly grounding experience.


Art Burned on Wood

20240714_132820.jpgArt burn with blank round next to it for perspective.

Close-ups from different angles.

Thanks for reading.

Art AppreciationLOGOPgbreak.png

All art in displayed in this post is my own, © @raj808 all rights reserved. Designs for title image are my own, created using gimp photo editor.

If you have enjoyed this post, please check out my homepage @raj808 for similar content.

I would like to give a big shout-out to @stickupcurator (and @stickupboys) for their amazing contribution to supporting music, art and all things creative on hive. If you haven't already, you should go check out their account for music, crypto podcasts and much much more 🙂👍

Art AppreciationLOGOPgbreak.png


Footer_raj808_edit.png

Raj808ArtAppBanner.jpg

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments