Coastal Blocks

coast blocksthumb.jpg

Bathed in light

I fancied a change of pace, so I have taken my paints and brushes to the French coast. The light feels different here, and it will be interesting to see what affect this has on the style of my work.

shadow border.jpg

My first painting was inspired by a rocky coastline, I drew an outline in pen and then built up the image using watercolours. I tried out a different style of line for this picture, building up blocks and lines of colour in response to the different coloured rocks and grasses that seemed to be tumbling towards the waters edge. Rather than an exact copy of the landscape I wanted to create a representation of the solid state of the rock against the changing movement of the water, sands and grasses.
20170617_210733.jpg

'Coastal Blocks' 2017

coast blockssml.jpg

Watercolours and pen on paper

Now, time for a spot of lunch!

bread.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center