Doogie to the Moon

doogie_fly_4.jpg.png

Doogie Kkak to the moon!!

This is the story of how Doogie Kkak my kimchi buddy went to the moon. Together these pictures make up a penbrush cartoon edited for your viewing pleasure.

One day Doogie comes out of the blue and says he wants to fly. Chewy Bae things Doogie is out of his mind and says he can't do it. As you and I know kimchi can't fly. But the amazing thing is that Doogie is resourceful. Together with his friend, Eon Moo radish he began to build the first Kimchi X spaceship. Let's see what happens.


doogie_flying_1.jpg.png
doogie_fly_2.jpg.png
doogie_flying_3.jpg.png

How high can kimchi fly?

Well Doogie Kkak and Eon Moo Radish proved Chewy Bae wrong. Kimchi can fly. How high can kimchi fly? Kimchi can fly to the moon. I don't have my hopes in these characters but I like to play with them and put them in impossible situations.

These characters are just the background for a series of books I want to get written about kimchi and culture in Korea. It is a long jouney and the first book is important. I'm a little scared of writing. Maybe that's why I draw cartoons. They saw everything I really want to say in a few pictures. I also find the brush strokes relaxing.



doogie_fly_4.jpg.png

One giant step for Kimchi-kind

My son did not recognize this quote. It's not funny if I have to explain the reference. I guess I have to get more modern with my comics and talk about kimchi lives matter or something to get his attention. But art is an expressionof me not a compromise to make my reader like it.

The main reason I made this hive account is that I can post what I want here freely. I'm not concerned at all about what people say about it. I'm just having fun. The pen I use is Korean and is used for caligraphy so the picture has an oriental flavor. These brushes are fun to paint with and I like the natural feel.

An interesting thing about pen brushes is that they bleed with humidity so when I first painted these pictures they were bright but after one day in the humidity they became cloudy beyond recognition. Part of that is due to the fact that there is way too much moisture in the air. I kept the paintings on the refrigerator door and when I came back the next day they were not the same.

doogie_space.jpg.png

One small step for @mcsagel

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now