Psychedelic Green Man?

What do I mean by Psychedelic Green Man? How did I come up with that?? Well.... I'll show you along the way.
I'm not at Mom's today again, because my car has not been repaired yet. If all goes well, it will be back on the road before the end of this week and by this time next Sunday I'll be out at my Mom's enjoying whatever I come up with for our lunch.
Night before last I started another page in my art journal. You know I use it to practice, try new toys or processes and just to have a little fun. I have many new stencils and new paints and something called water pens and so you will see some of them along the way, because I know you want too ! 😄

cover 2.jpg

In case you don't know what I mean by "Green Man" since the possible face on my art piece isn't green, they are usually found as sculptures in gardens. They usually include leaves or other things found in nature and lots of times have scary or stern faces..... but not all have scary faces. This is one I bought that is made out of cement. I simply couldn't resist him. He's not stern or scary though, but happily fun. They have MANY years of history that I will not expand on today, but google will tell you about it all, if you ask.

20220629_174812.jpg

The night I started my page, I first put on various colors of paint and then I used various stencils over parts of it in contrasting colors. I never worry when it looks like this, because whether it comes out balanced in the end or not, there are always clunky phases along the way. I truly loved the top where I stenciled in white over darker colors and it sort of looked like the affect of the rising or setting spring or fall sun as it comes through window blinds, especially when it is shining through the tops of some tress. It may not say that to you and that is ok.... it was just a hint of it to me.

Along the process 1.jpg

A little further along as I started adding bits of collage papers, it got to here. I am not putting a photo of every single change. YAY ! right?? ha ha I loved the paper I made that had the red and white, but after I glued it on, I realized it simply didn't belong here and would have to go under. That's ok, it happens. I ran out of time that night, so it ended here.

along the process 2.jpg

Then yesterday afternoon I was the art table again and now it was time to determine how it would go forward. I added some other papers (bye-bye red and white, sorry I wasted you)..... and after that it got to this point. It truly is only abstract and has no meaning, but my brain kind of said maybe it was a garden, with a little pond and a colorful brick walkway. The bottom right was maybe some flower beds near the garden pond and the horizontal center was maybe a fence with some flower vines growing up.

along the process 3.jpg

Of course it wasn't finished, I needed to see what would happen next. The center was blaze and needed something. At some point I began to wonder if one of the little "mini collages" I made and posted about sometime back might work there. I hadn't used any of them so far. I tried laying each one on the center and sides of the page, taking pictures of each one to review. In the collaging world it seems they call that "auditioning" a piece. 😄 I thought that was kind of cute to call it that. Anyway, the only one that would remotely fit in was the one below. When I created this little Mini, it was created in this orientation.

mini 3.jpg

But when I "auditioned" it (ha ha), upside down it seemed to become a face ! Not particularly a happy expression as I usually prefer. Since my brain had perceived this as a possible garden though, then the face was totally right for a not-green Green Man.
So THAT is how it happened to become the Psychedelic Green Man. Yeah, it may be a stretch and I might be the only on that sees it, but thinking on it that way makes it more fun for me.

cover 1.jpg

I got up this morning and was in no rush to do anything. Since I'm not going out, I had the whole day. I knew it would include some time back in my art corner, but I haven't made it there yet. I read some posts and threw around a few votes and messaged with my sister who will be helping me Tuesday morning when I attempt to get my car to the mechanic's shop. I then had some brunch while watching more art videos. I had finished eating and had gotten to a video that had something neat on it, but right in the middle of it, I decided that I would like myself later if I put the video on hold and filled up the dishwasher and got it started. So I paused it, filled up the dishwasher, hooked it up and turned it on. Then while going down the hall I decided I'd like myself better later if I put in a washing as I am getting low on clean bath clothes, so I did that. While gathering the strays from the bathroom, I noticed I should empty the waste basket and so after the clothes washer was filling, I did that and the one here in my work room. One thing led to another and next thing you know I had straightened a few other things (geezzz.. .I couldn't stop)..... all the while my video was on pause. Certainly I was heading back for that.... but no, maybe I should just do a Hive post too and then I should be good to go back and watch. ha ... So here I am and soon, very soon, I am going back and finish that video ! I swears !
Hope you are all doing well.
Love ya !
Jacey
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now