Par 3 | Digital Painting by AJ Brockman

Thumbnails__par_3_large.jpg

"It's impossible to explain creativity. It's like asking a bird, 'How do you fly?'… You just do" – Eric Jerome Dickey. This picturesque scene is actually quite common down here in the beautiful Tropics of South Florida. This is the view from my aunt's home In PGA National. A gorgeous golf course community more well-known for the yearly Honda Classic featuring some of the biggest golf pros on the PGA tour. This is a par three hole (I believe number 11 on the backstretch) and is always In pristine condition. All that being said, what inspired me the most and the reason for painting this composition are the regal sandhill cranes.

The sandhill crane (Antigone Canadensis) is a species of large crane of North America and extreme northeastern Siberia. They are one of the only animals that are monogamous and lifelong partners. They are also most memorable by the unearthly noise they make, similar to a prehistoric velociraptor (or what I presume they sounded like) that once you have heard you can never forget. There are quite a few families you can vaguely recognize by the difference in their plumage, but this particular family I was very familiar with and they had just hatched a new baby. Almost as if on cue, they emerged from the bushes just as the industrial sprinklers start watering the green. I have always been fascinated with these cranes and it's funny how we attribute human properties to the animals we love. To me, this was a perfectly happy family of three enjoying a stroll showing their little one this new world.

Thumbnails__par_3_mock.jpg

Thumbnails__par_3_detail.jpg

Thank you for reading and please consider upvoting this post, following me, and leaving a comment. The steemit community means the world to me and I look forward to posting daily content with all of you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center