Merida Homeland Monument: majestic piece of architecture built in honor of the old Mayans

I could not resist joining today´s #architecturalphotography contest organized by @juliank and @photocontests as I just stumbled upon a photo of me at the Homeland Monument, a giant sculpture found at the boulevard Paseo de Montejo in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico.

IMG_20171221_110624.jpg

Completed in 1956, this impressive structure was designed by Colombian artist Romulo Rozo to pay tribute to the old Mayans who used to live in this part of Mexico. In fact, Merida still has the largest Mayan community from all big Mexican cities - more than a half of its population is of Mayan origin.

IMG_20171221_120936.jpg

As you can see, I visited the site during the day but the locals said it is actually better to come at night when the sculpture is lit up, giving it even more captivating look.

IMG_20171221_120349.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center