Exploring And Discovering On My New Chacra -- Explorando y Discubriendo En Mi Chacra Nueva

Aesclapeus curassavica


PLEASE DO NOT PLANT TROPICAL MILKWEED IN PLACES WHERE IT IS NOT NATIVE You may end up killing many monarch butterflies.

Moving back out to the country albeit in a new country, marks the beginning of a new chapter in my life.
Centratherum punctatum flower just beginning to open

Another Centratherum punctata flower in full bloom

Lipia alba
Some of the wild edible and medicinal plants that I've gotten to know over the past 8 years also grow here, but many are new to me and that is extremely exciting. Already I'm finding my joy again, in documenting these new allies growing on my land and learning about their personalities and what they offer.
You will see these plants again also, as I document each one in greater detail while learning them and their medicines.

Chamaecrista nictitans

Eclipta prostrata


What I want to create and share on Hive, is the entire experience of healing from that last and most challenging and painful chapter of my life...
the philosophical, spiritual and psychological voyage that I'm currently on, the growth I seek to achieve within myself and how this is all going for me...
the blessings I find myself surrounded by every day...
as well as the challenges as I move through and supersede them.

Still now, I'm experiencing redundancies in my own personality that I want to change, but am unsure how best to do so, if it is even truly possible. I want to be vulnerable in this regard and hope to learn from the shared experiences of others and your journeys.
Emilia fosbergii

Macroptilium lathyroides

How divine to see this knocked-down-Papaya sprouting up as three new trunks

This is a photo of Ludwigia peruviana as are the next two.


Sometimes metaphors are great, when they feel more like a possibly co-existing true alternate reality happening on another plane of existence than just clunky imagery to go with the truth experienced. This has been on my mind for many moons now. Angel, my very loving friend who gave me safe-harbor when I escaped the bad place...in a compassionate attempt to lift my spirits told me that I was before in a chrysalis and now I have emerged a beautiful butterfly into this next phase of my life. At the time, I found it to be a useless metaphor. While I appreciated her intention and the expression of her affection for me, I resented the metaphor itself. I did not feel like a butterfly unfurling fresh new wings.

If I am a butterfly it was in my twenties and thirties that my wings unfurled. But it came back to me today, with this framing in mind: what if I am actually literally a butterfly...some fragment of this soul is...? Then the last eight years were a gnarly storm. My wings are tattered and I'm tired of struggling to survive physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually. There will be no eggs laid, no new creatures emerging from my body. So what is left then is sucking up as much sweetness as I can find, even if it is in tiny little droplets at a time, soaking up the warmth and the light at every opportunity. That feels true.

Here is a bug-chewed (solanum) leaf, carrying on. Did you know that the funky looking leaves of your veggies are more nutritious due to the higher content of volatile organic compounds that fight cancer and the like, having been released as a defense to being chewed upon. Is that another metaphor for me? Maybe I am also a bug-chewed plant who is now so full of powerful substances that I am repellent to those who would chew me up. That would be nice, but it seems that I may have more work to do in that area.
Another example of the same Solanum-type small tree which the chewed leaf was seen on. I'm having trouble identifying which variety it is that grows here. Perhaps it will be more clear when they flower.

physalis ground cherries growing wild.

capsella bursa pastoris, which I'd been trying to introduce onto my old farm for years, bringing home seeds from the cracks between the sidewalk in the city...It never took.
Solanum viarum whose super toxic fruits look like cute little tiny watermelon
Solanum aculeastissimum (or S. capsicoides???) is a variety of this plant which I'm familiar with from my old digs. It makes fruit that 'they say' are edible 'wild tomatoes.' I've never tried them and probably never will. They don't look nice for eating: no flesh, no juice, just skin and seeds. And then there is the likelihood that they are deadly. We have the blessing of tempering the old country-people wisdom with personal research. Sometimes the supposed knowledge is passed down incorrectly, and people will repeat what they have heard or what they think they heard, without ever having eaten the thing themselves......I think that is what happened. Funny thing is at least three people have told me they are edible. Here is a fun article about the debate over this plant (or plants...?)
Toxic Tomatos

Pretty little solanacea flowers

But look at those thorns!
I did plant some eggplant one year that grew thorns..
That was a first for me. They never grew very large or really ripened either, but we were in a drought.

Here we have a bit of a mystery:
are these the flowers of Diplotaxis tenuifolia or D. erucoides?
Sorry, I didn't photograph the leaves. I will do a specific post about this plant one day. Having consumed wild rucula before, I knew it when I saw it. However, it doesn't seem to be recorded as growing in these parts. I suspect that the plants found here as well as the ones that grew on my old farm, were perhaps "rucula gone wild" having self-seeded from garden cultivars, over a few generations.

I hope you enjoyed the meanderings of my mind and slutty flower-shots.

En Espanol:

Aesclapeus curassavica

POR FAVOR, NO PLANTE HIERBA LÁCTEA TROPICAL EN LUGARES DONDE NO ES NATIVA Puede acabar matando a muchas mariposas monarca.

Volver a vivir en el campo, aunque sea en un país nuevo, marca el comienzo de un nuevo capítulo en mi vida.

Flor de Centratherum punctatum empezando a abrirse

Otra flor de Centratherum punctata en plena floración

Lipia alba
Algunas de los yuyos y buenezas comestibles y medicinales que he llegado a conocer en los últimos 8 años también crecen aquí, pero muchas son nuevas para mí y eso es sumamente emocionante. Ya estoy encontrando mi alegría de nuevo, en la documentación de estos nuevos aliados que crecen en mi tierra y aprender acerca de sus personalidades y lo que ofrecen.

Volverás a ver estas plantas también, a medida que vaya documentando cada una con más detalle mientras las aprendo a ellas y a sus medicinas.

Chamaecrista nictitans

Eclipta prostrata

Lo que quiero crear y compartir en Hive, es toda la experiencia de sanación de ese último y más desafiante y doloroso capítulo de mi vida...
el viaje filosófico, espiritual y psicológico en el que me encuentro actualmente, el crecimiento que busco lograr dentro de mí y cómo me está yendo todo esto...
las bendiciones que me rodean cada día...
así como los desafíos a medida que los atravieso y los supero.

Aún ahora, estoy experimentando redundancias en mi propia personalidad que quiero cambiar, pero no estoy segura de cuál es la mejor manera de hacerlo, si es que es realmente posible. Quiero ser vulnerable en este sentido y espero aprender de las experiencias compartidas de los demás y de vuestros viajes.

Emilia fosbergii

Macroptilium lathyroides

Qué divino ver esta mamon derribada brotando como tres troncos nuevos.

Esta es una foto de Ludwigia peruviana al igual que las dos siguientes.


A veces las metáforas son geniales, cuando se sienten más como una realidad alternativa que posiblemente coexista en otro plano de existencia que como una simple imagen torpe que acompaña a la verdad experimentada. Llevo muchas lunas pensando en esto. Angel, mi muy cariñosa amiga que me dio un puerto seguro cuando escapé del mal lugar... en un intento compasivo de levantarme el ánimo me dijo que antes estaba en una crisálida y ahora he emergido como una hermosa mariposa en esta nueva fase de mi vida. En aquel momento, me pareció una metáfora inútil. Aunque apreciaba su intención y la expresión de su afecto por mí, me molestaba la metáfora en sí. No me sentía como una mariposa que despliega alas nuevas y frescas.


Si soy una mariposa, fue entre los veinte y los treinta años cuando desplegué mis alas. Pero hoy ha vuelto a mí, con este encuadre en mente: ¿y si en realidad soy literalmente una mariposa... algún fragmento de esta alma lo es? Entonces, los últimos ocho años han sido una tormenta torrencial. Mis alas están hechas jirones y estoy cansada de luchar por sobrevivir física, emocional, mental y espiritualmente. No habrá huevos puestos, ni nuevas criaturas emergiendo de mi cuerpo. Así que lo que me queda es aspirar toda la dulzura que pueda encontrar, aunque sea en pequeñas gotitas cada vez, absorbiendo el calor y la luz en cada oportunidad. Es verdad.

He aquí una hoja de solanum masticada por un insecto. ¿Sabías que las hojas de aspecto extraño de tus verduras son más nutritivas debido al mayor contenido de compuestos orgánicos volátiles que combaten el cáncer y similares, liberados como defensa al ser masticadas? ¿Es otra metáfora de mí? Tal vez yo también sea una planta masticada por un insecto que ahora está tan llena de sustancias poderosas que soy repelente para los que me masticarían. Eso estaría bien, pero parece que tengo que trabajar más en ese aspecto.

Otro ejemplo del mismo arbolito tipo Solanum en el que se vio la hoja masticada. Me cuesta identificar qué variedad es la que crece aquí. Quizás esté más claro cuando florezcan.

physalis...algun tipo de aguay manto silvestres.

capsella bursa pastoris, que llevaba años intentando introducir en mi antigua chacra, trayendo a casa semillas de las grietas entre las aceras de la ciudad... Nunca me salio.

Solanum viarum cuyos frutos supertóxicos parecen pequeñas sandías.
Solanum aculeastissimum (o S. capsicoides???) es una variedad de esta planta que conozco de mis antiguas excavaciones. Produce unos frutos que "dicen" que son comestibles, "tomates silvestres". Nunca los he probado y probablemente nunca lo haré. No tienen buen aspecto para comerlos: no tienen pulpa ni jugo, sólo piel y semillas. Y luego está la posibilidad de que sean mortales. Tenemos la suerte de atemperar la sabiduría de los campesin@s con la investigación personal. A veces, los supuestos conocimientos se transmiten de forma incorrecta, y la gente repite lo que ha oído o lo que cree haber oído, sin haber comido nunca el producto en cuestión....... Creo que eso es lo que ha ocurrido. Lo curioso es que al menos tres personas me han dicho que son comestibles. Este es un divertido artículo sobre el debate en torno a esta planta (¿o plantas?)

Tomates Toxicos

Florecitas solanaceas chiquitas y bonitas

¡Pero mira qué espinas!
Un año planté unas berenjenas que tenían espinas...
Fue la primera vez. Nunca crecieron mucho ni maduraron, pero estábamos en sequía.

Aquí tenemos un pequeño misterio:
¿son flores de Diplotaxis tenuifolia o de D. erucoides?
Lo siento, no fotografié las hojas. Algún día haré un post específico sobre esta planta. Como ya he consumido rúcula silvestre, la reconocí en cuanto la vi. Sin embargo, no parece estar registrada por estos paises. Sospecho que las plantas encontradas aquí, así como las que crecían en mi antigua chacra, eran tal vez "rúcula silvestre" que se había auto-sembrado a partir de cultivares de jardín, a lo largo de varias generaciones.

Espero que hayan disfrutado de los meandros de mi mente y de mis fotos de flores zorrasosas.

I wrote this and the photos, I made as well.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center