Water Caller | Splinterlands Art Contest Week 262 šŸŒŠ

final.png

Hello Everyone! I'll be participating in this week's Splinterlands art contest. And I chose the Water Caller card as my entry. I drew a portrait as my entry this time because I've been enjoying painting portraits these days.



ART PROCESS


1.png

2.png
I started with a rough sketch and tried to use the Loomis method for the pose but couldn't figure it out so I just put a centerline and adjusted until I was satisfied. After I did the sketch, I proceeded with the background and then used my lasso tool to select my sketch and fill it with base colors.

3.png

4.png
This time I added a layer on top of my base color and changed it to Multiply blending mode to add the shadow. The hair has become a challenge for me, was thinking about whether should I leave it plain purple and paint highlights and some textures later just as I did with pure black hair, or should I paint the shadows now. I decided to choose the latter because I felt more comfortable with it. Then I added the lips and then started rendering the nose.

5.png

6.png

7.png

In this part, I painted more details on her face I added more and more contrast to the light and shadow until I got satisfied. When I was studying values with still-life objects I figured out that knowing where to put sharp and soft edges can greatly affect the details of the painting, it could add crispiness and that's also what I did here, especially on the nose. Then I used the distort tool to adjust and fix the proportions.

Then I brought back some of the sketches to add more textures to them then added the highlights layer above. I used the hardlight blending mode to add highlights on that cloth or something on her neck (idk what it's called) and the highlights on the hair. Then Color dodge blending to add a rim light.

And here is the result...

final.png

Thank you for reading and have a great weekend everyone!šŸ’–


šŸ’¾Software: Krita
šŸ“™Reference here



Ozaki

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency