64

trogdor

Trogdor, Ph.D.
Available
Used
Resource Credits
2,973 Followers
67 Following
June 17, 2016
trogdor
politics
6y
Random political thoughts of the day
Random political musings of the day: It's interesting to consider: what is the purpose of an election? Is it to select the candidate that is the number one choice of a simple majority of the citizens,
$ 4.826
105
30
views
7y
The 100 most popular Steemit posts of all time!
The 100 most-viewed posts on Steemit Hi all, welcome back to my blog. If you have been following me for a while, you probably know that I occasionally like to dig into the data and try to find some interesting
$ 62.723
85
111
11
trogdor
bandwidth
7y
Why are comments limited to every 20 seconds, when bandwidth is supposedly limited by Steem Power?
Source: Pixabay, free for commercial use This is something I've been wondering about for a while now. Almost every account that I've ever looked at on steemd has had probably greater than 95% bandwidth
$ 10.915
34
51
2
trogdor
steem
7y
Steem Statistics: Correlation between number of posts and number of followers
Greater user engagement correlates with greater follower counts! Hi all, I have recently been playing around with the Steem blockchain data using @arcange's SteemSQL (which I highly recommend for the
$ 9.422
69
53
6
trogdor
steem
7y
Top 100 Posts of 2017 by USD Payout!
Top 100 Posts of 2017 by USD Payout! Wow, looking back 2017 was an amazing year for Steem and Steemit. We've seen new record highs in user adoption, shattered all records in terms of blockchain capacity,
$ 52.060
43
40
1
trogdor
sbd
7y
SBD trading volume is EXPLODING!!!
I'm not sure if anyone else has noticed, but the SBD trading volume has just SHATTERED all previous records. According to coinmarketcap.com, the trading volume for the last 24 hours has been a little over
$ 106.997
72
66
7
trogdor
smt
7y
Smart Media Tokens for Dummies!
Wow, I can't believe it's been months since I've posted on Steemit... Sometimes things just get away from you. I guess in the last six months or so I've defended my PhD, started a new job, bought a new
$ 152.126
125
89
22
trogdor
eclipse
7y
Geeking out at the solar eclipse!
My first total solar eclipse! It seems like I just can't find time to post much these days. I think part of the problem is that I'm trying too hard to think of really good posts, which combined with my
$ 54.995
109
59
7
trogdor
eos
7y
In the future... ICOs will run on EOS!
In the future... ICOs will run on EOS! I wanted to post a quick follow-up to my post comparing EOS and Ethereum and focus on one specific issue: Initial Coin Offerings (ICOs). It's worth spending some
$ 28.378
65
52
13
trogdor
eos
7y
EOS vs. Ethereum for Dummies!
Disclaimer: EOS is currently under development, and some of what we do know about the project is probably subject to change. Furthermore, I am not an Ethereum developer, just someone who uses Google reasonably
$ 1,391.079
1099
469
233
trogdor
eos
7y
The EOS ICO for Dummies!
The EOS ICO is coming! Are you ready? In the crypto world, things move and change so quickly that it's easy to get lost. New projects are coming so quickly now that most of us hardly have the time or expertise
$ 558.009
482
256
72
trogdor
edison
7y
One of the World's Greatest Innovators: Exploring Thomas Edison's Laboratory
My dad has been a self-employed electrician for many years, and he has always liked to tinker with all kinds of electronics and gadgets. He's definitely one of the reasons that I got into science and
$ 37.284
57
34
trogdor
running
7y
Running community on Steemit? Easy afternoon 10 miles
My wife's travelling in Scotland with her sister for a week, so I thought I would get some fresh air to keep myself from feeling too cooped up. Decided to go for an easy-pace 10 mile jog on one of my favorite
$ 32.285
96
48
1
trogdor
eos
7y
Introduction to EOS: the Epic (blockchain) Operating System
TL;DR: EOS is a consensus blockchain operating system that provides databases, account permissions, scheduling, authentication, and internet-application communication to massively improve the efficiency
$ 444.698
378
123
30
trogdor
running
7y
Perfect weather for a relaxing 6 mile afternoon jog
I've been taking it easy lately, since I've been stressed trying to wrap up my dissertation and deal with a lot of various graduation issues, so I finally decided I had to get some fresh air and take a
$ 3.152
40
9
trogdor
gradschool
7y
Trogdor, Ph.D. - Finally defended my dissertation... now back to Steemit!
After 21 years of school, I'm finally done! Wow, I can't believe I haven't made a blog post in over 8 months... Let's just say I've been preoccupied with my dissertation for the last few months. For some
$ 20.209
40
25
trogdor
nuclear
8y
Physical Cryptography: Nuclear Disarmament and Zero-Knowledge Proofs
One of my colleagues/friends at Princeton University recently published an article in Nature Communications (a very highly-ranked, reputable journal!) which I thought might be of some interest to the Steemit
$ 99.428
61
15
trogdor
voting
8y
A World Without Curation Rewards
The Death of Voting Image licensed creative commons. Source Disclaimer: I am not arguing that curation rewards should be removed. In fact, I currently receive more rewards through curation than through
$ 6.724
61
18
trogdor
mystery
8y
The SHOCKING Answer to Charlie Shrem's MYSTERY Letter????
After hours of research and digital analysis, I have finally unlocked the secret of Charlie Shrem's mystery letter!!! The breakthrough came when I used an intensity threshold filter to convert the scanned
$ 9.474
54
11
trogdor
bots
8y
I Was Spammed by 800 Bots: Sybil Attacks and the Economics of Buying/Selling Votes
Recently I was pleasantly surprised when one of my posts seemed to be gathering quite a bit of attention. Within an hour, it had received several hundred votes, and within several hours it finally topped
$ 7.244
61
26

Follow, be first to know

Nothing found in posts.