Walking around London. Much history

I was in London for a meeting last week and had some time to kill, so I decided to explore the area near the office. I got off at Farringdon Station, which is just to the north of the City of London. The City, also known as the Square Mile, is actually quite small and is surrounded by the many boroughs, so you need to travel a long way to leave Greater London. Farringdon is on a direct line from Arlesey, where I live, so it is an easy journey.

Smithfield

Smithfield Market has been a place where meat is traded for hundreds of years with the current building being about 150 years old. It was fairly quiet when I walked through the middle, but is probably really busy when deliveries come in each morning.

Wallace

Just on the other side of the market is St. Bartholemew's Hospital. I had not expected to see a monument to William Wallace. He fought for Scottish independence in the 13th century becfore being captured and executed by the English near this spot. He was portrayed by Mel Gibson in Braveheart (which I have never seen). Even after 700 yeads people still leave flowers there.

Plaques

On the other side of the hospital are plaques marking the earlier hospital and monastery that stood there.

Paternoster Square

Next I moved on to Paternoster Square which is surrounded by the Stock Exchange and St. Paul's Cathedral. I have not been in either of those.

Sculpture

In the square was this sculpture called The Wild Table Of Love by Gillie and Marc. It symbolises how we should share the world with the animals we are rapidly wiping out.

Guildhall

This building dates back to 1440 and it is now used by the various London guilds.

Technologists

Talking of guilds, I recognised this building as belonging to the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists, one of the newer guilds. I have been in there as someone I knew was a member. I went to their quiz night and also attended a couple of other events. You meet some interesting people there, but membership is very expensive.

Tower

Although the city is full of history it has also had extensive development for offices and so a lot of it is pretty soul-less and I expect it is very quiet at weekends. I should think this tower was a landmark in its day, but now it is lost amongst the newer buildings. It is a very expensive place. I saw some prices for apartments that would buy a sizeable house where I live.

It was a little wet on my walk, but I quite enjoyed it. I have been around some of the area before, but you can always find something new, or old.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency