There has been a lot of chatter surrounding litecoin and a MIT announcement with a technology release on Aug 1 2017. So what is it? If you go to http://litecoin.mit.edu you'll be greeted with the following landing page:
If you look at the landing page you'll see something fishy. The logo for litecoin looks like Litecoin but not quite and also there a donation Litecoin address on the bottom of the page:
LZgnTyUZ4net1HcnqrYxRbZTh1QhPeHHNJ
If this is a legitimate project why is there a litecoin wallet address there? According to Charlie Lee's interview in my previous post (https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@poopsta/the-decred-assembly-ep9-litecoin-decred-and-more-w-charlie-lee) any student can create a sub domain site on mit.edu. Charlie knows the MIT policies as he is MIT alumni. He also reached out to MIT with regards to this news and did not receive any replies from MIT regarding this matter. It appears that a student or a group of students are trying to stir up the litecoin pot and trying to pump up the litecoin prices or it could be a ground breaking project - after all these are smart MIT kids. What are your opinions on this matter? Comment below :)