Encrypting your XON wallet means that you assign a certain passphrase to your wallet. Once you've done this, you will for example have to unlock your wallet to be able to make a transaction. Because of this, implementing passphrases and storing them somewhere safe is an essential part towards keeping your wallet secure.
Go to 'Settings', and then click on 'Encrypt Wallet'.
You will now have to enter your passphrase of choice. Once you've saved your new passphrase, your wallet will automatically be locked. To unlock it, you will need to use the passphrase you’ve just chosen.
Make sure that you store your phrase somewhere safe. It is best to not just paste it in a text file on your computer. We recommend storing your passphrase on an external location. The easiest external location is probably a simple piece of paper or a USB drive. Perhaps even both!
Remember that if you lose your passphrase, you will completely lose access to your wallet. This is not restorable.
Once you’ve done this, you will have to pick a location to save your backup. It’s very important that you always keep the name of your file the same: ‘wallet.dat’. It is also best to store your file on multiple different locations outside of your own computer. The safest option usually is an USB drive. This way you’ll have the file stored offline. Because of this, it is not easily compromised by any malicious software or hackers.
Download the 1NODE Platform wallet on your new device. Pay close attention to where you install your 1NODE folder. This will usually be in the AppData folder. On most computers, this folder is hidden by default. You can either make your hidden folders visible, or you can simply type the data path you need. The correct path will usually be C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Roaming\1Node.
Simply go to your folder and drag your backup wallet.dat file in the folder. Replace the old wallet.dat file that was already present.
Once you’ve done this, opening your wallet for the first time again might take some time for it to synchronize with the chain.
Once your wallet is synchronized, you should see your old funds again.