The Cast of Characters Living Next Door

Not everyone is fortunate have their parents having their own house while growing up. Some people have always stayed in rented homes their whole life and this is very common in my part of the world due to the countries financial situation. Everything is expensive and not everyone can afford to build a house and even if they do, it takes time.

Luckily for me, I never had to experience staying in a rented house while growing up. I was born in my grandparents house and not long after that, we moved in to my dads house. We have lived in that house for so many years but I can tell you that most of my neighbors don’t even know me and vice versa. Even if they know me, they probably just know me by face and nothing more. I’m not one to relate with people whom I don’t like and I don’t even have the energy to hide it. Unfortunately for us, God blessed us with neighbors who were renting in their respective places and so you can imagine what goes on there. Petty gossip , fights and all of that. At our end, we value our peace of mind and so we don’t even attempt to mix with these kinds of people.

Five years ago , I moved away from home to a place where I knew no one. Obviously, I had to rent a place but I didn’t know where to start from. From all my years of renting, I have never been fortune to have the kind of place I desire. I remember how I rented a room in my second year in the university only for the roofing to fall off one day. The land lady even asked me to fix it on my own. Can you imagine. Anytime I go to rent, I always pray to get a good place, I don’t think I ever have to worry about neighbors. I’ve had so many kinds of neighbors. Some good, some were also a bundle of trouble to deal with.😂 I once had a neighbor who didn’t sleep at night. He would play loud music all night while smoking with his friends and our rooms were just opposite one another. I always dreaded the nighttime because I never had my peace of mind.

Currently, I’m renting in a compound house and I wouldn’t say it’s bad at all. I’ve been here for almost a year now yet I still haven’t met some of my neighbors and house mates. I can be in my room the whole day and no one would know. The funny part of all this is that, the place is mostly occupied by students and so I’m literally the only worker there. There’s no form of petty talks between us unless when it’s necessary and moreover, I’m mostly away.

It’s quite calm here as compared to other places I have stayed. My neighbors are really funny people if I must say. They are mostly ladies and you know how our gender is . I remember once, they didn’t know I was in my room and they all came out to sit right in-front of my door to gossip. I just sat in my room laughing because I actually knew the people they were gossiping about . You should have heard the kinds of stuff they were saying about others. I was really surprised but well, let me mind my business.

As they say, where two or more women are gathered, someone is being roasted. I’m not one to gossip and so I make sure to stay away from such sittings.But aside the usual gossip and petty noise making, I’d say this badge of neighbors I have are not that bad at all. I don’t think I’d wish to change them for worse ones.😅


all images belong to me.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center