Charlevoix's South Pier Lighthouse has for some time been a prized historic point to boaters looking for safe section between Lake Michigan, the Pine River Channel, Round Lake and Lake Charlevoix. It is likewise a chief area to watch the staggering dusks over Lake Michigan. The primary beacon to be worked at the passageway to the Pine River was really situated toward the finish of the north dock. This pyramidal wooden pinnacle served from 1885 to 1914, when it was exchanged to the finish of the south wharf and supplanted with the present steel tower in 1948. In 2005, the beacon, considered abundance by the Coast Guard, was offered at no cost to qualified elements. After the survey procedure, the National Park Service granted the beacon to the City of Charlevoix in 2008. In August of 2009, the light, which had been painted white in late decades, was come back to its unique splendid red shading.