Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 181, birds perching on wire

It's been a while since I've used the 55-250mm zoom lens I have in my collection, mainly because I haven't been active doing bird, insect or reptile photography, but as my health and mood improves and the walks in the park or the mountains get longer and I enjoy them more, I decided it was time to take things seriously and go out and take some pictures in advance for the upcoming contests there may be.

So in 2 days I took approximately 200 pictures of which I will have to edit as needed, being honest it will be quite difficult to edit each picture, but something will come to my mind, and since my lens is not a bright one, the days have been cloudy and with low light, I tried to use the same aperture and shutter speed, leaving the ISO on automatic, although that caused me some images with ISO noise up to 6400, but I prefer to have the image with noise than not having it at all, let's start.

I thought it was a Pitangus sulphuratus

The truth is that I have always said that I like taking pictures and challenges, and taking pictures of birds is a good challenge for me, even though I don't know the correct names of the birds and many times I get confused easily with what I see, so when I saw this bird I thought it was a Pitangus sulphuratus but just at this moment when I am looking for the names I realize that google lens tells me that it is a Vermilion Flycatcher, so you know, I need your help and confirmation about the species, which by the way this will be my entry to the contest of the week: birds perching on wire

aves_en_alambre_0001.jpg

The color was a bit difficult to manage due to the white balance of my camera, the light changes due to the mostly cloudy sky and small flashes of light that could be seen occasionally, plus I'm still getting used to using the Darktable editing program, so sometimes it's a headache but the challenge is there, I'll keep going with the software.


aves_en_alambre_0002.jpg

On my way home I saw these Quiscalus Mexicanus females on the fence so I wasted no time and took a picture, it was a bit strange because by the time I thought there were too many birds but I didn't take any more pictures because it was too chaotic, although now that I think about it maybe I had something special and I wasted it, what caught my attention is that I didn't see any males in their gathering.


aves_en_alambre_0003.jpg

The next morning I saw this pair huddled together trying to warm their bodies under the few rays of the sun, something that blows my mind because I feel hot all the time in this city and I really only feel comfortable with the weather until the winter season but well, according to what I have been able to research its scientific name would be Columbina inca, tell me if I am right please.


aves_en_alambre_0004.jpg

Already on my walk I came across another specimen that was not afraid of my presence, and in fact the proximity from the place where I took the picture played against me and the picture does not have the definition it should have, you can not always win.


aves_en_alambre_0005.jpg

And finally I took the picture of this female quiscalus mexicanus that was in solitary, I know it is not a wire but although there is nothing special to see this female, I wanted to dedicate her individual photograph, hopefully she will see it and decide to give me her autograph, which will have nothing special but it would be good for the memory.

Now I intend to hunt them (with the camera don't be scared) because the turtle hatching season has already started in the parks, and this bird is a ruthless killer of baby turtles, so I am between a rock and a hard place about whether I should take pictures and document or defend the defenseless turtles, although I know and understand that nature must take its course and we really should not act either for good or bad, since a small action however good it may seem, can bring chaos to the environment affecting populations that nature manages much better than our ideals, what do you think?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments