61

markrhunter

Mark R Hunter
Author of nine books, emergency dispatcher, volunteer firefighter, husband of one and father of two ... three, if you include the dog.
Available
Used
Resource Credits
rural Indiana
May 24, 2017
markrhunter
coronavirus
5y
No, Wiping Doesn't Stop a Virus
Let's get to what seems to be the important question, first: No, I don't know why people are hoarding toilet paper. It's not that kind of virus. There's so much misinformation about the coronavirus, and
$ 0.458
7
1
markrhunter
humor
5y
Emily's magic: New Book Cover!
Okay, so I already revealed the cover to More Slightly Off the Mark once, but this time we really, really mean it. We thought the original was a little imbalanced, so Emily added a newspaper nameplate,
$ 0.000
2
markrhunter
love
5y
It's Our Sheets and Pottery Anniversary
I can't tell you what I got my wife for our eighth wedding anniversary, because it hasn't arrived yet, and she sometimes reads my blog. And by "it hasn't arrived yet" I mean as I write this our
$ 0.022
3
4
markrhunter
indianabeach
5y
Indiana Beach ... Gone For Good?
Here's the interesting history of the "Riviera of the Middle West": For several years I got Indiana Beach tickets through my work, and would take my kids, and sometimes their friends, there.
$ 0.000
1
markrhunter
books
5y
Because it’s there?
I have a Mardi Gras themed book wallpaper! No, I’m not going to Mardi Gras, and I don’t celebrate it. Why do you ask? Guess I’ll just use it to shout out our website.
$ 0.000
1
markrhunter
books
5y
book review: The World War 1 Triva Book, by Bill O'Neill
I wanted to get away from all the anger and destruction going on in the world today, so I went looking for some light, fun reading. I chose World War 1. Nobody ever claimed I make all the best choices.
$ 1.887
273
14
markrhunter
writing
5y
Red Is For Ick, or: How icky is that title?
I've been kidding myself with the name of one of my novel manuscripts. It's not that I was in love with the title: I was more in love with the possibilities the title represented. Many readers are familiar
$ 2.906
353
markrhunter
valentine
5y
On Valentine's Day, Be Meme
I was going to write a loving Valentine's Day salute to my wife, otherwise known as sucking up. But I got sick, also known as every freaking holiday and anniversary, so instead I stole a chose some nice
$ 0.132
7
markrhunter
valentine
5y
Free Humor Anthology for Valentine's Day
Yes, I posted about My Funny Valentine last week, but that was before I found out the e-book version will be free from now until February 14th. That's a heck of a buy, by which I mean you don't have to
$ 0.135
8
markrhunter
celebrities
5y
Celebrity Death Knell
Orson Bean, Robert Conrad, Kirk Douglas, Mary Higgens Clark, Freddie Silverman, Kobe Bryant, Jim Lehrer, Terry Jones, Edd Byrnes, Buck Henry, Gene Reynolds ... pauses to catch a breath ... and we're only
$ 0.000
4
markrhunter
humor
5y
A Little Snow Goes a Long Way
Everybody complains about the weather forecasts, but nobody wants to get a meteorology degree and see if they can do it better. It's an axiom. I assume. I'm not sure, let me check ... yep, that's what
$ 12.289
492
10
markrhunter
myfunnyvalentine
5y
Yes, guys--they're doing Valentine's Day again this year.
I was going to lay off the shameless self-promotion this week, but then I remembered ... this. Coming off the big SportsBowl weekend, it takes many men a few days to recover their senses and start thinking
$ 0.488
59
1
markrhunter
writing
5y
Scooby Doo meets The Thin Man
This was lost in my blog drafts--it was actually written several months ago, then forgotten! It's interesting to me, because in it I speculate on a novel project I'd just started on--but in the real timeline,
$ 2.860
410
5
markrhunter
books
5y
99 cents for no campfires, so don't be fussy
This may seem an odd time of the year for this, but I've been working on a novel set at a horse campground in late April, so to me it fits right in. In conjunction with it appearing Monday on the
$ 0.154
55
markrhunter
writing
5y
A Short Short Story Update
I wrote awhile back that one of my short stories, "Grocery Purgatory", was bought and would be published soon. Sadly, the publisher suffered a death in the family, and the story was put, shall
$ 0.095
55
markrhunter
writing
5y
Any book is better with horses, and dogs, and The Wizard of Oz
I've already worked into my novel-in-progress three atrocious puns, three references to The Wizard of Oz, two more to Harry Potter, two horses, and ... well, just one dog, but he's an unusually smart dog.
$ 0.000
9
markrhunter
books
5y
Lost in the Amazon
I noticed recently that if I went to Amazon.com and searched for "Mark R. Hunter", I did not come up first. In the Kindle store, the first six hits didn't have "Mark R. Hunter" attached
$ 2.705
285
10
markrhunter
humor
5y
The Good Parts of Being Sick
Yes, yes, I know--how can we come up with anything good about being invaded by nasty little sickness bugs? Well, it's like this: Everyone around here is getting sick lately, with some respiratory gunk
$ 0.903
72
2
markrhunter
outlander
5y
Book Review: Outlander
You may have heard of Outlander, a little tale of time travel and kilts that spawned, oh, several dozen sequels, and a TV series that's headed into its sixth season. Being a fan of time travel stories,
$ 12.116
137
10
markrhunter
newyear
5y
New Year's? Are They Doing That Again?
Oh, yeah, New Years ... we're doing that again this year. And after a century of waiting, we'll be back into the Roaring Twenties, so there's that. The Teen years? As with the teen years of people, they
$ 1.964
285
1

Follow, be first to know

Nothing found in posts.