Spending a few hours in Hersonissos coastal town, in Crete - Greece

My Sunday was full of activities and some of them worth a different post!

I am happy to put this post in the Pinmapple Map and .. without further ado, let's go visit Hersonissos seaside place!

It was a beautiful day, blue and white all around. Spring time has usually significant differences in temperature. One day it may be hot and you just should go to the beach, and some other days it can be chilly and it almost feels like fall time.

IMG_4522.jpegIMG_4528.jpeg

There were some boats in the sea, and many people walking at the seaside road but just a few were swimming at the sea.

I wanted to make as many photos as possible during the time that I had available.
I hate seeing ropes, because I always think that they may end up in the sea, but they make a nice photo because of their vivid colors.

Here's how I am 'bound' by the ocean :)

IMG_4519.jpeg

This part of the beach has some really big rocks and it is very impressive.

IMG_4518.jpeg

There are parts of white sand, but there are also rocks in the bottom. It would be better to snorkel here, and you would definitely need special shoes for that.

IMG_4510.jpeg

It is a long time since I swam in Hersonissos .. There are some really secret spots (and I will try to visit them this summer and show you!)

Something really nice and photogenic about this city, are the mountains around it. They create a 'secluded sensation, like you are hugged by nature.

IMG_4508.jpeg

The chapel we see in this photo, is dedicated to Saint Paraskevi and was constructed in 1870. It is nestled under the imposing rock face, and always had a big significance for the Christian community. I was trying to upload more videos about this chapel, but Internet connection is causing me trouble again :( So I will probably dedicate a new post, just about it!

IMG_4504.jpeg

A highlight of Hersonissos is ..

The pirate ship!

IMG_4500.jpeg

This ship offers tours, but at the moment it is not open yet for visiting.

IMG_4499.jpeg

I am not sure how many people can get in, but it is a massive ship!

IMG_4497.jpegIMG_4492.jpeg

More photos of the port and the cafeterias!

I only had a coffee so I did not take a photograph of it. Next time I will take also photos of the restaurants & coffee shops - as well as of the Cretan delicacies

Leaving you here with this .. "all-around-is-blue" feeling!

IMG_4485.jpeg

I hope that you traveled with me for a while...

p.s. unfortunately my videos do not upload..

image.png

If you are interested in seeing my videos when uploaded, you can check out my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCY0T7LAdd_WFjKFxGDO97mA and if you subscribe to me, I will subscribe to you too :)

Thanks for visiting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center