Stressful Final One Hour | Random Chamber Talk | Aug 22, 2024

It was a young adult in his mid-20s! Around 6 months before, he was somewhere for "the pleasure"! Maybe, he didn't take any protective measures! When he cooled down, his sense kicked in! What had he done? Maybe out of shame or out of "fear of revealing his dead", he didn't go for any test.

Finally, he thought, "Enough is enough"! Either "know it for sure" or to get rid of "the stress". He decided to go for an HIV test. He came to our clinic a few days earlier to do the test. We are getting similar cases in our chamber. So, I ordered the test. It would take around 1 hour to get the result. I told him to sit in the waiting area until the result was available!

It was almost one hour over and the result wasn't still out. He came to me. "Is it ready"?

"Not yet!"

"What if it comes positive?"

"We have to inform the result to CDC or Government authority dealing with STDs. But, please wait outside. We will talk about it after getting the result".

10 minutes over! For some reason in the lab, the result was delayed. He came to my chamber again. It looks like he couldn't hold himself any further! He was boiling inside!

"Is it ready"?

"Not yet!"

"Is there any treatment if it comes back positive?"

I tried to calm him down and told him to wait! I called the lab and urged the staff to make it quick. I also asked the lab to inform me immediately when the result was ready!

Finally, the result came in. It was negative! He was negative for HIV!

Upon hearing the result, he didn't fall into prostration like one of the previous patients. But, he must have thanked God somehow! I hope, he also took an oath not to go down the same path again!

A random and completely unrelated photograph to the text above. I captured it in 2022 when we visited Sohar Park



hafiz34.gif

My Favorite projects/programs/communities on Hive



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments