What Happens to your Old Blog Posts?

Earlier today, I received an upvote on an old post of mine from 2019. I'd forgotten about that article written over two years ago, and can only presume they found it via a Google search. I see that a lot on Twitter with responses to tweets from months ago. It really shows the value of keeping the search engines in mind when creating evergreen content.

Mining digital gold

This made me wonder what bloggers do with their old posts? At times, I've gone back to my old work and picked the carcass clean when looking for ideas on what to write about next. It's interesting how you can glean something new from a project that was left behind long ago. In a way, I'm glad someone can find value after combing through the forgotten books in my dusty library.

One thing is that I keep all of my writing saved, just in case something happens, and as a snapshot of the times in which they were written. There may be different sensibilities at play now then there were before this present crisis. I can still remember one of the last times I visited Burger King in 2019, and laughing my ass off to something funny that was posted on Hive. My how the times have changed.

All of the content that I create becomes a part of my digital portfolio. I still have some of my Blogger posts saved from my earlier days of blogging. Some of that stuff you'd want to burn it if you could.

That was back when I was hiding while blogging thinking no one would see my mistakes, much like someone learning the guitar at home in their spare time. It's good to see your growth as a writer, and by comparing your new work against the old, allows you to see just how far you've come.

The good thing about the blockchain, is that it will live on long after me. Much like reading a well-written book by an author from long ago, I hope that one of my posts will help or inspire somebody to hang in there when times are tough, and lead a better and more productive life. That's why I blog.

If you liked this article, please upvote and rehive, thanks!

Please check out my recent posts:

Image credit: 1, 2


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency