Searching for the Ultimate Notebook Planner (and I might have found it...)

Image 2021-11-19 at 2.08.33 pm.jpg

Okay, I admit it - I have a bit of a stationery fetish. I like the tactile nature of pens and paper and really dislike tapping on a keyboard or mobile phone screen.

I think that I just find it easier to think with pen and paper in hand.

I have been experimenting with using a hybrid version in the form of a 'Remarkable' device which is a bit like a Kindle, in the sense that it is monchrome so it doesn't have the glare of an iPad or similar tablet and tries (fairly effectively) to mimic the sense of pen writing on paper.

I've enjoyed using the Remarkable(1) in many respects as it does a pretty good job of imitating the pen-paper feel; however, the version I have (1st edition) is starting to look and feel a bit 'boxy' - the second version is now available and it does look much better (see video).

Also, I still get a little frustrated having to 'fire it up' every time I want to take a note - this is especially annoying if I find myself on a call and I want to quickly jot something down!

"Err, could you wait a second whilst my "(electronic) piece of paper" wakes up...?!

There is also the fact that the Remarkable 2 is bloody expensive at around £500+!

So I started hunting around for a replacement and I think I might have found it in The William Hannah planner.

https://williamhannah.com/

Made in England, it looks like a solid notebook with (clever) removable pages that can be inserted wherever you want in the notebook. I must confess that it looks like a bit of a 'Filofax' revival - do you remember them...?!

I've opted for the whiskey leather and kingfisher inner lining and some paper refills that include a six month calendar with space for notes etc.

Image 2021-11-19 at 2.09.22 pm.jpg

I'll write a further review once I am up and running with it as I have just ordered it and I understand that it's on its way...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now