My work this week - Honesty is the Best Policy

Part of my job is Editor and proofreader - mostly for indie writers (independent/small publishing houses) and this week I've helped an author with her 'baby'.

She has led a life of struggle and strife, hardship and deprivation and yet, she has not only survived, but she has also brought two children into this world and is helping them on their way with a great deal of love and support.

Through her struggles, she's been taken advantage of, raped, held and robbed at gunpoint and the lives of her children have been threatened.

Yet, not once did I get the feeling that she blamed anyone for her hardships. Instead, she battled through and is overcoming them. Not only that, but she is helping others too.

I helped her with proofreading at first and she phoned to ask me what I thought of the book because a TV company wanted to feature it and she'd had some feedback from them.

"It needs more work than just proofreading," I said, worried that she would get all precious and stroppy with me, or that she'd think I was angling to get more money from her.

Instead of getting angry and upset with my opinion, (she did get upset and I was so sorry for that) she terminated the call and dealt with the issue. When she rang me back, she agreed that the trouble and upset she'd gone through was worth it because she's now found an editor she feels she can place her complete trust in.

To that end, I not only proofread her book, I've also edited the part of the book that she was upset about, a part she'd written after the initial editing.

Add to that the fact that she's now sent another book for me to edit because she trusts me implicitly and wants to recommend me to her friends.

Honesty being the best policy is my motto.

I was told once that liars have to have good memories to remember who they've told which version of the truth to.

I also believe the truth needs to be told in as kind a manner as possible. It is possible to tell the truth in a manner that doesn't wound. Telling the truth just for the sake of it is all well and good, but if someone is hurt by the words, opinions or thoughtless comments, then that is not 'truth', it's unkind.

Peace in your day.


pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center