Hypocrisy and What We Used to Be

image

We used to be explores and creators. Harnessing the power of animals, water and wind. Our machines could reach the outer most limits of our minds. And the only thing that stopped us was ourselves.

We dreamed of reaching the stars, and now settle for reading about them and their latest exploits. We watch videos of people exploring and living life to the fullest, and make sure to comment "first" so they know we did something too.

We are the greatest the world has ever seen. But hopefully not the greatest to come. We've over come wars and radicals, curing diseases just to bring them back.

We are over prescribed and under diagnosed. We are a generation that hates labels, but we've been labeled our whole lives. I'm white and depressed, he's Asian and an introverted skitso. You have 3 or 4 labels, but they do little to define the real you.

We are the look at me, not at them, generations. Twitter wars and Instagram races, who will win? Who really cares? The numbers speak for themselves, we've learned that from grade school on. Tests and results, just another statistic on a sheet.

I guess it's hypocritical of me to say we are the 'give me' generation, as I'm writing this for a platform that's sole purpose is to like and share. Am I grabbing for your support and upvotes while I down play my own addiction to the selfish generation. The 'pick me' generation. The 'I need more followers' generation. I guess I'm just another cog in this machine that strives for one more like and one more share.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now