I Want to Write but have Nothing to Say // How do you Overcome Writer's Block?

Concrete block - geograph.org.uk - 595329

This is sort of a question and sort of a prompt to force myself to write something. I find it difficult to put word to screen. In part, I think this is because I care about writing, particularly my own, which is not terrific and likely could be accurately defined as serviceable. The thing is, I know that I am not a great writer, though I once had aspirations of being one. More and more, this is okay with me. Still, I have trouble sitting down and writing. I find myself wanting to write something but second guessing what it is that I have to say or at times not having anything to say at all, having only the desire to write instead.

It is somewhat annoying to me that I still have the desire to write. I've given up on being a writer in the traditional sense, but a platform like Steemit gives me hope that there is still a place for me as a marginally talented voice who occasionally has something useful, meaningful, or true to say. And this hope keeps the desire to write alive.

Still, I find that the desire to produce often outweighs my actual ability (or perhaps willingness) to do so.

So on to the question: How do you write when you have writer's block?

Or how do you force yourself to produce writing, which might be a similar question in some regard.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now