"All It Takes Is Emotion"


IMG_20180126_141743.jpg

We filmed a prenup video last Wednesday, and it was the first time @randomli and I were the focus of a professional photo and video shoot. Even though it doesn't seem that way, the two of us are really camera-shy. We're so used to being behind the camera all the time, that it feels so unnerving to be front and center. It's not as if we're any good behind it either. Seeing professionals at work has made me realize how different they take photos compared to amateurs. I felt like I was a novice when I caught a glimpse of how they were filming it.


DSCN1003.JPG

The truth is, I've always had a resentment for people who take pictures and film video for a living. They're always so snobbish and so full of themselves. I know it's not proper to generalize them, but almost all of the photographers that I have encountered were total douchebags. With those checkered scarves, bag full of lenses and DSLR cameras that are worth more than most laptops. They have an air about them that makes them feel like they're a cut above the rest, like we should be thanking them for allowing us to breathe the same air. Ugh!


DSCN1068.JPG

The production crew we worked with were different though. They were very accomodating, and the only strict instruction they gave was for us to let loose. None of those manufactured poses, or artsy fartsy death defying shots. It was all natural, and we didn't feel like we posed even for a second. Well, we did pose at times, but it's all in a playful environment. To be honest, it felt very similar to the way I film outings or vacations.


27484694_10155866959045435_1160805484_o.jpg

"Make love to mountain!" I would instruct. "Oh man, you just ate raw vinegar," I would say to simulate a sour expression. "You just won the lotto after you stubbed your toe." Those were the kinds of instructions I would normally give to my subjects. More often that not, it elicits natural reaction and genuine laughter.


2016-02-15 08.05.47.jpg

As I mentioned, I used to be camera-shy, mainly because when I was a kid, people forced me to smile a way they wanted. To be honest, they still do, but now I have the good sense to live my truth. Society has a way of dictating standards, and deviating from those would almost always mean that something's wrong. It isn't. A different angle doesn't mean it's wrong, a different pose doesn't mean something's inconceivable. I hated posing because I was always chastised for being my natural self. It made me seem inadequate, and that I had to adhere to norm that are, well... not normal for me. I always hated it when every micro pose was dictated, and that the photographers weren't satisfied until I bend over backwards to their will. As a storyteller, I'm incensed that they have megalomaniac tendencies as well, as I feel that's a quality reserved for my people. But, then again, most photographers and videographers consider themselves as storytellers as well, so I'll forgive them for that.


2016-02-16 06.55.27.jpg

The whole experience made me think back to a phrase that I feel I've coined (don't quote me on that though)—"All it takes is emotion." Initially, when I thought of that, it was sort of a defense mechanism against people who use fancy DSLR cameras to shoot High Definition photos while I was stuck with my measly camera. Then, it moved on to high-end mobile cameras while I was stuck with my medium-grade one. You see, I'm too thrifty for my own good, so I get left behind on the latest gadgets and trends. But, it quickly became about technicality.


DSCN1997.JPG

Rule of Thirds, exposure, aperture adjustments—these are just a few terms more seasoned photographers throw around. As you can tell, I don't fancy myself as an uber-technical photographer. No offense to those who are. Personally, I feel like a good picture is a good picture. You'll feel it in your gut, no matter the lighting or the overexposure, or the quality of camera and its resolution. But, that's just me. I'm the guy who feels like the story the photo conveys is its most important aspect. Every other element is inconsequential as long as it tells a powerful story.


IMG_20180124_081538.jpg

I feel like some times, that gets lost in all the fluff. Sometimes, the technicality stands in the way of appreciating a good photo. I had the chance to watch a TV show called Photo Face-Off where in amateur photographers compete against each other and one professional photographer. I've seen good photos get demolished by reviewers because they didn't meet standards. Standards, mind you, that aren't even strictly objective, no matter how much they try to pass them as such. Heck, some photos are even better than the professional's! Yet, they deem the professional's photo as superior most of the time. I don't get it.


IMG_20180128_133806.jpg

Now, I'm not saying that all of my photos are amazing. Far from it. I'm not even saying that my photos are any good. What I am saying though is that everyone should just chill the hell out and appreciate photos for what they convey. If everyone focused on color balance this, saturate that, everyone will lose sight of the subject. Yes, even if they follow the Rule of Thirds.


IMG_20180111_160229.jpg

This is the same thing I tell my fiancee when we're comparing photos. She's too focused on making it look perfect, while I just click and move on. A pragmatic photographer with a "that'll do" attitude is what I call myself. Again, I'm not saying my photos are better that hers, but I definitely have more fun taking one shot as opposed to taking twenty shots of the same thing in an attempt to get it perfectly.


DSCN1947.JPG

The same thing applies to other aspects of life, whether it's writing, art, finances, programming and architecture (definitely don't have a that'll do attitude in finances, programming and architecture!) While it takes a lot of effort to make something amazing, don't get too caught up with technicalities. Pepper in some feelings in there to give it life. But, if you're in the business of making things look perfect, then I'm fine with that too. Without you guys, there won't be a benchmark to compare others' work with. All I ask is that you don't have to be a douchebag about it. If you want to move people, you first have to move yourself. I really don't know why I said that last bit. In my mind, that made perfect sense, but when I wrote it down hmm... Oh well, that'll do.


Also, little did I know that my previous post was my 200th so yay! I'm officially a bicentennial minnow haha! I don't post as often as I should, and I don't post multiple times a day (except for that one time which I still feel horribly about) so it took a while for me to reach this point. But, now that I'm here, what can I say? ... First of all, thank you to the Academy for this honor. Thank you to the Hollwood Foreign Press for giving me the opportunity. The critics, oh man, who could forget the critics!? To my fellow actors, all of you are amazing. Thank you to my mom and dad for giving me life and nurturing me. And, most of all, thank you to my fiancee @randomli, for being my rock. Okay, they're playing me off, so I just want to say one last thing before the orchestra gets too loud. The capacity to learn is gift; the ability to learn is a skill; But, the willingness to learn, man.. that is a choice; So learn, each and every day, from any source you can, as much as you can. Good night!


Needless to say, all photos are mine.



Help keep @lukestokes.mhth as a top STEEM witness! Vote now :D



Join me in my Year of Resilience!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now