A risk-taker's tale |2| : Into the dark

risk-taker's tale logo copy.jpg

It was dark inside me.
I searched for light.
Desperately stretching out my hand for something.
Anything to reassure that I'm alive.
There was nothing.

It was silent.
The deafening kind.
I tried to speak to test my ears.
Words won't come out of my mouth; not the ones I wanted to speak anyway.
Have I lost my voice? No, I thankfully thought.
Have I lost my courage to speak?
What a more frightening thought than the darkness and silence.

I ran.
So desperately searching for a glimmer of light.
My heart raced faster than my strides.
My thoughts trailing behind:
what, where, how? Am I alive?

I stopped in front of a blinding light. Hope!
The place was a beauty. I was in awe.
There was all kinds of white. Isn't white just white?
I never imagined a different kind of it, but there it was
with a formidable looking gate standing tall – golden and glowing.

I'm saved.
Finally, I can go home – or so I wished.
I took a step into the gate and an alarm went off.
I hit a wall I cannot see. How?
I couldn't cross until I give it up, somebody spoke.
Confusion was all over me. I had to give up something I do not have.

I felt something in my hands.
There it was; a white pouch with a golden ring inside.
I was even more confused.
I had to give up something I do not even own.
What an easy decision – or so I thought.

I couldn't let it go.
I frowned, torn between two decisions I do not even understand.
I wanted to cross the gate and go home but I found myself not letting go.
It was dark.

There was no light;
and then there was again.
I saw a flicker of it, and water?
I blinked, a lot. There was more water.
I fully opened my eyes, tears flowing. Why?

Tears of gratitude –
the purest water I can offer as tribute for another chance in life.
I remembered the pain.
I tried to reach my belly but I couldn't move.
Oh! It was a success.
I am alive.
I am home.



With a grateful soul,
The 8-year old who loved life



The image used is an original artwork.

Hope you had a good read. You could also check out:

A risk-taker's tale: The becoming
which talks about the accident that made her fall in love with life for the first time.

Stay tuned!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now