The path

"..those you will throw out, those you needed to write to get to that fourth page, to get to that one long paragraph that was what you had in mind when you started, only you didn’t know that, couldn’t know that, until you got to it. And the story begins to materialize..." --AL

Everything we do is a draft. Until it's not. All the time we put into relationships that don't feel quite right, all the jobs that cut us off from our passions, all the distractions we let blind us to our real purpose--a purpose we can't know or name until we stumble onto it.

But one day, after what feels like a million wrong turns, we find the path. The one that was always there--the one we needed to be ready to see.

Being in this place connects me deeply to my purpose, to why I'm here. This canyon and these sandstone walls and all those stars up there, always there, just waiting for nightfall. It's like coming home to a place I've known for centuries.

Yesterday, in the mid-afternoon heat, I ran across the tops of the mesas watching the clouds roll across the sky. I could do this forever. I have done this forever.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now