I went to a wrestling show!

cover.jpg

Tonight, I was convinced to leave my apartment long enough to see an indy wrestling show. It was the Northern Lights Wrestling's East Side Christmas.

I am a lifelong wrestling fan, growing up in Northern Minnesota and watching AWA matches as a kid.
I've watched on and off through my adult life, but have always loved watching a good wrestling match. I currently watch NXT every week(Peyton Royce 4ever) and WWE pay per views.

I hadn't been to a show in years, so it was cool to see this show.

downTownPetey.jpg
"Downtown" Petey Brown

It took place in an Eagles Club, and the ceiling was low enough that they couldn't do any top rope moves.
In the 2nd row, I was seriously about 5 feet from the ring. Every time one of these guys hit the ropes, I got a little nervous. If the rope gave out, I would certainly be squashed.

Other than being in a room that wasn't much bigger than the ring, it was a really fun night.

luchMatch.jpg

The champion's name was Tommy "Spider Baby" Saturday, and he was a classic heel. He did all of the old school bad guy stuff in the ring,(biting, eye gouging, low blows, etc..) and I really like that. I have a soft spot for old school heels...

Here are a few of the highlights.

There was also a wrestler called Leonard Literacy who had "Book Club" on his tights, and his finisher is a moonsault called the Reading Rainbow!!!

It was a good time.

I also picked up a Downtown Petey Brown shirt:)
GOTaSHIRT.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center