Vue + Ionic 4 Project - Week 005 - Requests

Much of this week was working on the request estimate modal, but I still feel more needs to be done, or I am just unhappy with the progress. Right now, it is starting to piece together nicely with what I have so far. I just wish I can do some testing with Uber, but again I am having considerable difficulties getting it to work because of CORS.

Between the data that I get from Uber and Lyft; I believe 65% of the data is compatible with each other, but it does leave room to test. Uber does have a feature called Surges where peak busy times will increase the fare prices for rides. Major problem from these surges to a regular fare is that their JSON structure differs drastically.

Lyft has something similar with its Primetime feature, but at the least it’s data stays consistent.

When it comes to mapping and geocoding; I am going to go with Microsoft’s Bing API to handle retrieving latitude and longitude conversions, and retrieving static map images of routes as shown in these images. One thing did threw me off was that the JSON response gave me back the binary data of the image, so I will need to reconstruct it from the app end. Currently I have the image linked to the REST API call, but I am not going to keep it there since it also includes the key, and eventually I might want to make a POST call if I want to put a crazy amount of pin points. Who knows…

That is it for this week. I was unable to work on my React project at all this week as another project came up, but it is not ready for demonstration.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center