Word Poetry Challenge #8 : Sunsets

Sunset

AEA3129A-959F-461C-B98A-D8B6F7D15CDB.jpeg
I
How does one write a poem about a wordless poetry?
Do I write of the times when life was a dark place and it was its view that saved me?
Do I write of the times it rendered me speechless, too caught in awe of its beauty?
Do I write of the thousands of times when it showed me even endings could be pretty?

How do I write of sunsets? I wish I knew of a proper way.

II
Do I write of the kaleidoscopic view in the sky when twilight replaces day?
Do I write of the countless times I have stood on the same spot, graced by a changing beauty?
Which color need I honor when I write, would it be fair to just pick one?
Do I write of orange, pink, purple or red, or of countless sunset colors I’ve seen since life began?

III
How do I write of the sunset, when it has never needed words?
How do I write of a priceless beauty I’ve never needed money to afford?
Because for far too many times, I have looked in wordless wonder,
And the more I saw of sunsets, the more my heart grew fonder.

IV
It is beauty, it is grace, it is perfection incarnate,
A quiet grand performance, one of nature’s prettiest state,
Awe-inspiring, jaw-dropping, heart-thumping, living canvass,
It has made the day’s harsh light turn softer, on all the days it came to pass.

V
I have always found it difficult, other muses are not so tough.
How do I write of sunsets, will words ever be enough?
Because a million words I write cannot do its beauty justice,
All I know is in it’s presence, I know exhileration, I know peace.

2B69C770-F7AC-4A69-9979-6754BEE9F6B4.jpeg

Photos are mine, the first taken with a MyPhone31, and the next one taken with an Iphone SE.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now