Making a Bowsaw, Part 5, Chopping the Mortice

I showed how I cut the tenon on the cross brace earlier. Now I will chop out the mortice in the handle.

IMG_9011.JPG

The handle and the cross brace need to be able to pivot slightly to allow the blade to be tightened.

I marked a slight radius in the handle to accept the cross brace.

IMB_BgwtgD.GIF

Then I use the chisel to shape the radius to the mark.

IMB_hjzPRe.GIF

Once I have a smooth curve I mark out the length and width of the mortice.

IMB_JTmJUs.GIF

IMB_BgGFJK.GIF

This is mostly just to be sure the brace is more or less centered. Remember from last time, I cut the tenon to be exactly as wide as the mortice chisel. The mortice will also be just as wide as the mortice chisel, so a snug fit is automatic. The lenght of the mortice will be a little long to allow for some pivot.

IMB_oqSjh3.GIF

IMB_2okFiB.GIF

IMB_qXHpan.GIF

Another view of the fit of the joint.

IMB_XWs4ID.GIF

And a closeup of the pivot action.

IMB_sQpJLC.GIF

We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. Come join us on our discord channel, click the link and follow the directions to sign up here: https://discord.gg/v9YaGYw

Thanks for looking and let me know what you think,
Until next time,
@skycranehandwork

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center