DIY Cabinet Doors

We were traveling for a few days to see family. I wish I had taken more pictures, but it didn't occur to me. Yesterday's adventure involved loading two cows and a steer into a livestock trailer.

I'm back at home now and had most of the day to dedicate to working on my current project, a custom vanity for a bathroom that I've been remodeling for 6 months.

The mahogany doors glued up nice and square. When the joints are cut right you hardly need any clamping pressure. I glued the plywood panel in place so that it wouldn't rattle. If it was a big door I might leave the panel loose to accommodate the seasonal motion of the wood, but this one is so small that it won't matter.

The cutting bit for the hinge jig needed a little adjustment to make it work for my application. My doors are the very thinnest stock that can take a cup hinge, so I had to cheat a little on the mortice depth. Turning down the tool shank on the lathe allowed me to set the depth stop just a hair shallower than the standard setting. I wanted to cut it as shallow as possible to prevent the spur from poking through and ruining the door.

The Kreg jig makes it easy to use nice Euro style cup hinges. They have several clever adjusting mechanisms plus a smooth soft-close action.

Now I just need to mount the face frame on the carcass and start sanding.

Cheers, Professor Bromide

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now