Culture, Women, and Irish Mythology

In Irish mythology women transformed into hares to become messengers between the human world and the spirit world.

The heart of my work focuses on intercultural discovery.

What is culture? What's the difference between multicultural and intercultural?

I like to think of culture as the patterns of relationship between any two or more people, places, or things informed my history, mythology, dreams, vision, concepts, and ideas.

Intercultural to me means the exchange and learning of one anothers' culture and unique experience in the world.

Intercultural discovery... Sometimes I think of this as learning something new that waas beyond my own experience or comprehension of reality.

I also like to think of it as the culture we continue to create when on the edge of intercultural discovery...

How do the cultures within you and life interact with the cultures within me and life? How do those interaction create culture in the moment. How do those interactions devalue one another? How do those interactions prioritize ones frame of perception or thinking or dreaming more than another?

This could all seem like a lot of word work. And, when I root it in experience, I feel it sink into my heart and passion...

I think about a binary of culture related to gender and the corporate context.

In any society, when men gather certain things are talked about and expressed. When women gather, different things are talked about based on patterns (culture) and biology...

It breaks my heart to see a women speak and her voice be dismissed or hardly heard, then hear a man say the same thing or speak with more authority about her experience and no one bats an eye.

It also breaks my heart to see men posturing in such a way that hurts everyone... It's not common for men to have safe and emotional spaces to talk about their relationship to responsibility or finances or work... In a corporate context where men's voice and perspectives are centered, everyone suffers...

I love intercultural discovery because I love joy and life and living fully.

What might be an edge of for you to discover or to contribute???meireles-neto-333149.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center