Hive witness update log #18: Upcoming infrastructure changes

witness update 18.png

Post Eclipse fork, new graphics 😀

Infrastructure changes

For those who remember the Black Friday deal on a dedicated server that I managed to secure last year, the offer will be expiring at the end of this month. That means it is time for me to move servers!

Currently, it runs hived.techcoderx.com block producing raw Appbase endpoint. When I first rented the server, it was sufficient to run a full RPC node. However, due to increasing disk requirements, I had to stop running Hivemind to free up disk space as announced here and redirect all Hivemind related calls to another public node (currently api.c0ff33a.uk) as I ran out of monthly budget to get another one running.

Going into 2021, I will be running the hived AH node and Hivemind (yes I'm bringing it back to techcoderx.com) on my home connection to minimize costs. I have a fully synced AH node on v1.24.6 on my PC (which took 7 days of replay with only AH RocksDB database on a spinning drive that I have), and I ordered all the required parts that I need on Singles Day sale yesterday to get the rest of the full RPC infrastructure running. Make sure to follow this blog as I will have a video on it when I receive them.

Most OneLoveIPFS services will be down (excluding IPFS gateway) between 1 to 24 hours while the rest of the server migration takes place after I get the full RPC node running.

OneLoveIPFS v2 & Alive protocol

In preparation of Alive protocol, work is being done on OneLoveIPFS uploader to properly support live streaming by enabling HLS .ts chunk uploads. It is highly likely that Alive protocol will be launched on Hive (and possibly Blurt at the same time) initially as no hardfork is required due to the use of custom_json operations to store all the stream chunk hashes on-chain.

Furthermore, the v2 update will include other fixes such as calculations in disk usage and blank Avalon custom key authentication.

I will also be bringing back the IPFS Discord pinning bot (repository, to be renamed) very soon after OneLoveIPFS uploader v2 release is complete.

Witness performance

Let's see how well my witness performed lately :)

Current rank: 93rd (active rank 85th)
Votes: 3,945 MVests
Voter count: 123

Producer rewards (7 days): 26.12 HP
Producer rewards (30 days): 110.88 HP
Missed blocks: 1

Server resource statistics

This section will be present in every witness update logs (if any of my nodes are online) to provide new witnesses up-to-date information about the system requirements for running a Hive node.

hived (v1.24.2, MIRA)

block_log file size: 295 GB
blockchain folder size: 723 GB
Account history RocksDB size: 416 GB
RAM usage: 13 GB (this is the highest I've seen so far)

shared_memory.bin size (all plugins, v1.24.6): 16.9 GB

Server network utilization (last 30 days)

witness update 18 network.png

Pulled straight from server provider, best viewed on light mode

There will be more details in this section again once I fully get my RPC nodes running by the end of this month.

Support

Currently subsidising server expenses myself for the first year. If you like what I'm doing, please consider supporting by voting for me.

Hive witness footer 2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Ecency