Witness Update - Recharged and Reloaded!

I'm a strong believer in accepting mistakes and learning from them.

One of those mistakes was the fact that I didn't have a backup witness-server ready for the time my main server would miss blocks. (my old one ran out of RAM due to the ever-increasing size of Steem - which is not an excuse because I should have ordered a new one)

The mistake got triggered 7 days ago when my main server started to behave weirdly and crashed 3 days in a row - once per day.

Day 1
Day 2
Day 3

The last time was even on a Sunday at 6 am, which was not the most fun thing that could have happened.


Now - 2 days ago, I received a replacement server from my provider @privex.

The specs are as follows:

Main Server
i7 Quad-Core
64GB DDR4
2x 240 GB SSD
Based in Germany

(shoutout to @someguy123 for supporting me every time - even on a sunday!)

That server has been producing blocks for the last 48 hours straight - which is a wonderful feeling after so much trouble.

And because I told you that I've learned from my mistake - the new Backup Server is now running as well.

Backup Server
i7 Quad-Core
64GB DDR3
2x 240 GB SSD
Based in Finland


Both of the servers are provided by privex.io who are accepting crypto-currency as payment (incl. SBD & STEEM)

In addition - I have also 2 other servers in place which are running my own witness-failover script and conductor kill-switch to failover to my backup server or in the worst case to disable the server - in addition with notifying me via SMS.

All in all, I'm confident in having made the right procedures now to make sure that my witness is producing blocks non-stop

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center