Take The Pressure Off (why so needy?)

Twitter (Best) steemit.png

© Westley Nash (2016)


I wrote this... Thought?... Joke?.. Let's call it a humourously represented observation ;-) after first using Twitter for a few months. I'm sure anyone who is familiar with Twitter must have encountered this kind of person at some time or another. Where soon after you follow them (particularly when you follow back after they have followed you) within minutes your inbox lights up. So you open it and find yourself greeted by a lengthy, auto-generated reply which is furiously urging you to turn on notifications, be an active follower and to subscribe to all of their other social media accounts etc. etc.. etc...

Stewie.gif

I've read a lot of blogs and reports on "Twitter Etiquette" and these tactics are often vilified among the experts, but some users are utterly convinced that it's encouraging interaction from people. Personally I think it risks pushing those people away rather than encouraging them to interact. Whenever I receive a message like this, I can't help but think "Alright, easy there buddy, can we back up a little!" as it comes across as rather imposing and needy, to the point where I'm more than likely to unfollow them than anything else. I've seen the same exact thing on other social media platforms too and to be honest, I think this tends to happen when we develop an unhealthy obsession with gaining as many followers, comments and likes as we can possibly muster (at all costs!) rather than on building our franchise or developing our content. Sure, as content creators we all want that exposure and we all like our work to receive feedback, but I just don't think that harrassing and hounding people is the best way to accomplish that... Just my two pennies worth ;-)

#thoughtsofsteel


Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and view my content, I am most honoured indeed and hope you have a really great day :)

Best wishes
Westley xx


You can also find me here:

YouTube
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
DeviantArt
Deep Underground Poetry

STEEM MINNOW BANNER.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center