Father- and Friendsday

Father- and Friendsday

And now I own a land plot on Islay!

Beautiful hollow by the broad bay

Or in Gaelic: "Laphroaig". That was what I was surprised with this Sunday morning the 16th of June 2024. And I can tell you, I was flabbergasted! This was the Whisky that I had tasted a while back. Cask strength, yet wonderfully smooth to drink. No ice, no water, mo chilled stones, just this pure golden liquid. Had doubted many times, should I get a bottle, nah, other stuff is more important right now.

And then on Fathersday my daughter presented me with a Laphroaig 10, Cask Strength. Burning nicely at 58,5 percent. Yet, it still goes down in a silky smooth way. Which is also the dangerous part. The sweet taste with hints of vanilla and the aroma of the spicy peat smoke make this my personal favorite. This Islay Single Malt Scotch Whisky really is something special. And I could not resist to have a little. (Okay it's my second little by now.)

Not only my daughter and my other half were involved in this surprise. Also my brothers in beer, the Grumpy Men team, had their part to play in it. So it's a Father- and Friendsday. Next beer taste evening with my good friends, hosted here, we will enjoy a Laphroaig on the side.

Time now to claim my plot of Islay land. Never thought that enjoying my favorite Scotch Whisky would come with land ownership. Yes I know, it's merely one square foot alongside the Killbride stream, but it's the idea that's fun. Guess I'll have to book a trip to Islay one day and visit my leased plot.

Hm, maybe just a small one for the road?

Have a great one!


Photo by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now