A Wednesday Walk Down Battle Hollow Road

IMG_1197_edited (1).jpeg

My entry (it's been a bit!) for @tattoodjay 's #wednesdaywalk.

IMG_1198_edited.jpeg

It's been a bit since I've been able to share a #wednesdaywalk adventure, but this one was worth the effort. I headed south of where I live to an area that was home to the last stand of the Sac Indian tribe. Known as the Black Hawk War of 1832, this area featured a massacre of the Native peoples of this area. On August 2, of 1832, the US military and various terroritial militia gunned down 150 Sac women, children, and men in area 1 miles west of this road. Another 150 Sac people were gunned downed or drowned in attempt to the cross the Mississippi River by the US gunship Warrior. Thus ended the sorry spectactle known as the Black Hawk War.

IMG_1199_edited.jpeg

Battle Hollow Road is a roughly one mile stretch of land tucked between two bluffs. This area saw Black Hawk's rear guard attempt to hold off the US military's Illinois Militia in attempt to let women and children escape across the river. The area, per historical accounts, featured fierce fighting between the Sac warriors and militia men. Unfortunately for the Sac peopple, the rear guard was not able to hold off the gaining US "army".

IMG_1201_edited.jpeg

Today, the area is an intriguing place of history. There is an almost profound sensibility I felt as I walked the road looking for interesting shapes and vegetation to photograph. I almost felt guilty; to sit on the site of genocide...it's quite an overwhelming feeling to partake in.

IMG_3619_edited.jpeg


IMG_3613_edited.jpeg

The bluff above is known as North Battle Bluff. There is a trailhead somewhere near here that I hope to find and explore in the future.

IMG_3618_edited.jpeg

It was interesting to find the dead cattails. Like the history of this place, the images I noticed carried an uneasy and eerie sensibility too. What a profound place to visit...and having lived in this area for most of my life, I find it fascinating that most have no idea of the historical meaning of this place.

It's one I will definitely revisit in the future, for certain.

Thanks for checking out my long overdue #wednesdaywalk share. With some luck, I'll be back again next week - thanks for checking out my work!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center