It's Wednesday. Walk With Me...

It's time again for a #WednesdayWalk, the tag created by @tattoodjay to encourage us to try and get out once a week for a short walk, which can be from your office, home or anywhere really, and to walk for a few blocks or a few minutes looking for things to get shots of.

A while back, my friend @rossfletcher pointed out that some of the abstract images that he and I were posting were reminiscent of Mark Rothko's "colourfield paintings." Looking for inspiration in my art, but in no way comparing myself to Mark Rothko, I have been deliberately trying to capture photos that imitate Rothko. Last weekend I used soft focus and intentional camera movement, but on this #WednesdayWalk from my office I just tried to isolate the color and details. So, join me in a lunchtime walk from my office to the golf course cafe and back, sipping a nice iced Americano on the return trip. First, inside the building where I work:

Apple iPhone XR

5p4vnq.jpg

Apple iPhone XR

bwcd5d.jpg

...and then outdoors to really start the walk. First with shots of the outside of the building:

Apple iPhone XR

25t98k.jpg

Apple iPhone XR

qqs7xg.jpg

Apple iPhone XR

z1p427.jpg

...and then some views along the way:

Canon EOS 80D w/ Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 STM lens

winapx.jpg

Canon EOS 80D w/ Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 STM lens

crzoo2.jpg

Canon EOS 80D w/ Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 STM lens

f3flsq.jpg

Canon EOS 80D w/ Canon EF 50 mm f/1.8 STM lens

9ogqlu.jpg
Please click on the images to view them full screen!

Original photographs by @kunschj. All rights reserved

Well, I'm back at the office, enjoying the last few sips of that iced Americano. I hope that you enjoyed the walk and the images. Sometimes I get in a rut and need something to inspire me to get out and shoot some pictures, and #WednesdayWalk and Rothko's "colourfield paintings" did the trick. By the way @tattoodjay, if you read this far, Rothko also did realistic paintings, often of commuters with their details blurred. One of his most famous is Entrance to Subway (1938)...feeling inspired for a Rothko walk of your own?


6eal3b.png

Thanks @otage for my name in blacktop alphabet!


odlw9s.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now