Website Update: 6 September 2024

Development of my web app is going nicely.

I ended up rebuilding the database using a standard naming convention. This saw me have to rewrite the code to match the changes. Luckily Find and Replace works well.

I've moved from Eclipse to Sublime Text 4 which I'm using for free for the moment. I miss the good old days of using proper IDEs rather than glorified text editors that we see today but hey. Once we upgrade our computer I'm going to look at purchasing Nova because I loved Coda back in the day. Either that or I'll move back to Microsoft Visual Studio which stopped working a couple of months ago, I suspect because I can only use macOS Big Sur on our current machine.

I've learned a lot about PHP and MySQL with this app and I'm loving it. I have even learned how to create a MySQL schema using nothing but SQL code. Thanks to PHPMyAdmin being a dick I've also learned how to troubleshoot SQL code.

I did find something funny though. When I was testing I noticed that no matter what I did with the PHP code I could not get the BMI to work correctly despite it having worked properly before hand. It turned out that when I created the SQL code I'd used INT instead of DECIMAL(x,x) so it was rounding up when the info was being entered into the MySQL database.

I've got the body measurements screen working with user specific clothing weights now:

What is working:

  • I've got the login screen working sweet now. I've made it look nice using BootStrap.
  • I've got the new user page working
  • I've got the adding Clothing Weights page working
  • I've got the main body dimensions page working (this is the one you see when you login)

What needs to be done:

  • I need to create a PHP script that inserts the body dimensions into the MySQL database.
  • I need to create a PHP script that lists all the entries you've uploaded

What "Nice to have" features are on the Want List:

  • Food database
  • iOS app
  • Forum system
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now