Ski With Me In La Baie Quebec

Another Ski With Me video edition.

I went up to the spot I had cleared back in November, before the snow started falling. It was a bit overcast and the weather had been really warm for a few days prior, which packed the snow down nice and solid. This was perfect for the dogs because they didn't fall through the snow very much and were actually able to do some long runs without doing any faceplants.

There was a really small amount of powder that had fallen the night before and it made it perfect for getting a grip on the icy, packed snow underneath. It made climbing my way up the hill the easiest it's been all year. Coming down was a different story because it was pretty slippery and easy to lose control of the skis.

Only two falls in this video. One from a miscalculation and the other from Jax getting in my way. I leave them in the video because it's funny to come back and look at these a few years down the road and see these ridiculous falls. Skiing with three dogs really adds a bit of an extra challenge. There always seems to be at least one dog on my left side - because that's how they're trained - so I can only ever turn right going down a hill. I didn't train them with downhill cross-country skiing in mind but it's no use trying to break them of it now.

I mounted the camera on my shoulder strap of my backpack this time. It's not too bad but all the videos were a bit crooked and I had to fix the really bad ones as best I could. Since this was only my second time trying this with the GoPro, it's really a trial and error thing. I'll rig it up straighter next time. Maybe I can mount it to my toque somehow for the next one. Then I'll also be able to point the camera where I want without having to worry about turning my skiing direction.

Or better yet, maybe I won't have a next #skitwithme because the snow is going to melt within the next 2 weeks. It will then be a #snowshoewithme until the snow completely leaves.

Highly unlikely, but I'll still welcome it if it happens.


I also put the song we recently finished with the Collaborative Steemit Band as the backing track. It's a super catchy little tune.

Artists

Vocal : @inMusicalTerms
Electric Guitar : @Phuzz
Drummer : @Phuzz 's Brother - Saif
Electric Guitar : @stephen.king989
Bass Guitar : @amberyooper
Organ Keys : @galoisconnection
Mixed and arranged by : @daivdfar

You can listen to the song again and download it from DSound


DTube just doesn't like me.

I had mentioned a few posts back that I was unable to upload to DTube with my iPad and now that I have my laptop back I tried again. Guess what? It still won't work. I was able to get the upload started about 6 times but it would freeze in different locations on all the attempts. That was when I could at least get the upload to start. Oh well, maybe someday I'll be able to upload something there.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center