Making a script to get updates when your voting power is 100% Part 02

Hello everyone!

I hope you are all doing well!

Here are some new updates I would like to share with you about the web scraper.

Update 1
Based off of my TA @bhanutejap I migrated to using selenium with python

This is what he posted

python
from selenium import webdriver
driver = webdriver.Firefox(executable_path=r'C:\Users\bteja\Documents\geckodriver.exe') ##this is the path where my geckodriver exists
hivestats_url = 'https://hivestats.io/@bhanutejap'
driver.get(hivestats_url)
vote_value_percentage = driver.find_elements_by_xpath('/html/body/div/div/div[1]/div/div[2]/section[1]/div[2]/div/div/span[1]/span[2]')
print(vote_value_percentage[0].text)

When I first tested this, it worked wonderfully and showed that I had 100% voting power!

I got excited!

But once I voted and ran the code again it gave me the error below

print(vote_value_percentage[0].text)
IndexError: list index out of range

I modified the code a little but the issue remains the same

My code:

python
from selenium import webdriver
from selenium.webdriver.firefox.service import Service
from selenium.webdriver.firefox.options import Options as FirefoxOptions

options = FirefoxOptions()
options.add_argument("--headless")



driver = webdriver.Firefox(options=options) #this is the path where my geckodriver exists

def get_voting_power(username):

    hivestats_url = 'https://hivestats.io/@' + username
    driver.get(hivestats_url)
    vote_value_percentage = driver.find_elements_by_xpath('/html/body/div/div/div[1]/div/div[2]/section[1]/div[2]/div/div/span[1]/span[2]')
   #/html/body/div/div/div[1]/div/div[2]/section[1]/div[2]/div/div/span[1]/span[2]
    
    return vote_value_percentage[0].text

username = "armoredbanana"
response = get_voting_power(username)

print("The user: ", username, " has: ", response, " voting power")

But if we use

python
print(vote_value_percentage)

It outputs an empty list as the answer.

This means that our code is not picking up the xpath, but when it is 100% it does!

python output
100.00%

It gets even more interesting

I reran @bhanutejap 's code and found to give me 100% as well
Furthermore to investigate I grabbed the xpath of the time that it will take for my voting power to re charge, which is 2 hours right now. But look at what I get as the output

output
Never voted before.

Very strange. The web scraper is getting data that I have never voted before, or that I have 100% voting power.

Conclusion

I am not sure what is going on, but whatever it is, its very interesting! I will keep you guys updated on how it goes and if you have any suggestions please feel free to let me know!

Thanks!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now