Vintage Cookie Jar

This is the ceramic cookie jar that I remember being in our house when I was a child. I always thought it was adorable, so my parents gave it to me many years ago when they were no longer using it. It has graced at least four kitchens, if not five, since I've had it and it always makes me smile. For the past few years, it has been packed-away in storage building with most of my possessions, which I am now going through in addition to Mom's and Dad's things. I was so thrilled to find this again and make sure it was still okay!

In the 1960s and prior, this was the type of container in which cookies were placed once they cooled from the baking process. Tupperware® and similar products have almost exclusively replaced many of these charming cookie jars from households. Granted, this container is not airtight, as it does not have a rubber seal around the lid, but it is certainly perfect for storing pre-packaged snacks. Air-tightness might not be an issue in larger families where fresh-baked contents would be consumed within a day or two.

The face of the Cocker Spaniel puppy is so sweet, and I like the basket-weave pattern on the base of the jar. Even the word "Cookies" is rendered in a stylish, quite interesting font. On the pebble-patterned bottom of the container are what might be the letters "MC" but it is difficult to be certain. No other markings can be seen. So, I'm not sure if this was a commercially-made item, or whether it was handmade by an individual potter. Due to the complexity of the piece, I am leaning towards the former, although some amazing pieces of pottery have been made by talented artists.

I wish I could remember the provenance of this item, if I ever knew it. I imagine that my mother probably told me, long ago, where she acquired it, whether it was a housewarming gift from a friend or relative, or perhaps a wedding present when she and Dad married, but I cannot recall. 😕

But, I definitely remember this item, perched on the back of the kitchen counter, when I was a child, and am thrilled to be able to give it a home after all these years and to appreciate the significance behind it!

 😊


31-Oct-2019

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency