Game Developer Reviews #1: Paradox Interactive

In my bio I state I love strategy games but I love a specific strategy genre that has a small but rowdy community. This sub genre is Grand Strategy and grand strategy games usually fall under one company that makes and produces them and that is Paradox Interactive.
Paradoc_Interactive.png
Now most Grand Strategy players have a love hate relationship with Paradox Interactive. They make great solid games but come up with 100 dlcs (that is not an exaggeration) that will break the bank. They also are based in Sweden and if you know any politics in Sweden you know that majority of the people vote on the left side of politics. Now I myself vote on the right side so most the time the company and I do not see eye to eye. The most current game developed by them was Hearts of Iron 4. The Hearts of Iron series has a special place in my heart. Hearts of Iron 4 is BY FAR THE WORST GAME THEY EVER MADE. The game mechanics are made for a ten year old and the game takes little time to win.
gsgsopinion.jpg
(This is /gsg/'s opinion)
The reason for this piss poor mistake was to make the sub genre appeal to a new audience of gamers. By alienating the old audience a large schism has occurred in such a small community. I like to think of myself as the old audience even though there are others that are much older than me. The two camps are divided by websites, one being on 4chan video game general board (/vg/) with the sub category of grand strategy general (gsg). /gsg/ers like to complain about anything that is new and would like to return to the good 'ol days of Grand Strategy that was too complicated for the most simple mind.
gsgsticky.jpg
(The sticky that is always up on /gsg/)
The other newer audience made a home in Reddit paradoxplaza and the paradox forums. Redditers are less new but still bitch and complain about the newest stuff and they like the game slightly dumbed down compared to /gsg/ers.
reddit.png
While paradox forums think every new feature is the next best thing and want a very basic game. As a /gsg/er myself I'm very bias and will always side with /gsg/ but with new mods for old games inside of /gsg/ huge drama wars are started and many /gsg/ers leave for Reddit which is a lot friendlier. All in All I hope you enjoyed your trip down a community you have never heard of.
Thank you for reading and Cheers!
cheers.jpg
P.S. This was originally a game review that turned into a rant.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now