What is ASMR?

Below you'll find out what exactly ASMR is and if you have it.
First, in video form then transcribed for your pleasure.

Don't wanna watch the whole video, but wanna take the test?

Skip ahead now to 08:52:10 to start the triggers.

Warning: The clock is ticking throughout the video. I got a sweet new mic that is very sensitive. I'm so sorry. I didn't notice till over halfway through with editing.


Transcript:

Have you noticed those weird videos on YouTube with people up close and personal... whispering? Maybe dressed like a doctor, pretending to give exams? Have you seen the ones with just lips... smacking? Or perhaps someone pretending to put makeup on you (the viewer)? Some pretty weird stuff out there nowadays. Why give it a second thought?

It's actually pretty cool... if you have it and alternately completely weird if you don't.

What is IT? Why do people watch these strange whispering videos?

It's called ASMR.

What is ASMR?

Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response

asmr pic.png)

A Brain Orgasm, if you will. Okay, I know, that sounds nuts, just bear with me.

Wikipedia describes it as

a static-like tingling sensation on the skin, typically beginning on the scalp and moving down the back of the neck and spine.

It was also described as

Low-grade euphoria

and just all-around positive feelings.
memoji cat hearts.png

It can be triggered by many things, including acoustically, visually, with digital media, by altruistic touch and even self triggered.

The most common triggers are

  • Soft Voice
  • Quiet, close, repeditive sounds
  • Watching someone do a mundane task such as cleaning, preparing food or putting on makeup
  • Receiving altruistic, tender, personal attention either in real life or by watching it on digital media.

So WHY do people use, enjoy or benefit from ASMR?

Top reasons:

  • Relaxation
  • Stress Reduction
  • Anti-anxiety
  • Sleep

I actually do it to relax and de-stress and ... get the tingles!

ASMR hasn't been coined for very long. In fact, it was first talked about in chat rooms in 2007 and in 2010 Jennifer Allen (no relation) finally decided on a name. The names being used prior to the coining were very descriptive: Attention Induced Observant Euphoria, brain tingle and head tingle, spine tingle, to name a few.

lemur feels it.jpg

My favorite: Attention Induced Head Orgasm🙃

Allen finally decided on Autonomous Sensory Meridian Response, assuming the meridian stands for orgasm.

I could NOT make this stuff up. IN Allen's understanding, meridian signifies a peak, climax, or point of highest development. It's essentially on old literary usage meaning the period of greatest splendor. So, I guess I get it. 😏


Have I lost you yet? Do you feel weird? Don't worry. I did too.

Now, with all this talk about orgasms and soft voices you'd think this is sexual, but inherently, it's totally not. In fact, that's why they chose to name it WITHOUT using the word orgasm.

Other evidence that points to it NOT being regarded as a sexual feeling comes from a professor at Ohio State (you can check wikipedia) who believes that primates (yuppers, good ol' chimps and monkeys) are experiencing a

strong similarity to physical grooming in primates' who 'derive enormous pleasure (bordering on euphoria) when being groomed by a grooming partner' 'not to get clean, but rather to bond with each other'

So basically, ASMR.
monkey love.jpg
And yes, once online EVERYTHING can become sexual and does, though this is/was never the original intent with ASMR.


Since it's not really been talked about until recently, not a lot is known about it. But what 'they' do know is you either have it or you don't. There's no in between. They are also starting to do studies on how it helps with the over-all healing process, particularly PTSD. Especially considering it is triggered by activities in the health profession. I.E. A doctor's visit where they are giving you full attention.


me oh resize.jpg
I've known I've had it my whole life. I remember the all-over body tingles (not just the head and neck- I'm one of the lucky ones) just getting my hair washed and cut, having a friend do my makeup, or telling the nurse my birthday information. There's that altruistic attention again. At the time I didn't know what it was, just that it felt really nice. 😍


Maybe you have it a little. Maybe you're thinking back to a time when you remember the tingles. It's also been described as having fizzy water (or soda) just under your skin in the most pleasant way possible. Or electricity, like very mild static, flowing through your body.

Sound like something you've experienced? Or want to try?


test time.png


The remainder of the video will either annoy you, make you feel super weird, or give you some excellent tingles. I'm hoping for the latter for you. ❤️

Disclaimer: I'm not going to eat anything. The lip smacking stuff does NOT do it for me. Totally grosses me out, but to each their own.😏

lips.jpg


Here's the list of triggers in the video (starting at 08:52:10):
*from this point the video is no longer transcribed. You'll have to watch to see what unfolds.😲

Auditory

Soft Spoken voice with altruistic attention
Wrapper crinkling
Scissors/cutting sounds
Glass tapping/touching
Skittles
Page turning
Writing on paper

Visuals

Finger Wiggles
Follow Finger
Brushing face


All images are my own, from Pixabay or altered from Pixabay (the animal ones).


There are literally hundreds of other triggers. It can be anything.

Do YOU get the tingles? What does it? What annoys you? Are you weirded out?

Got questions?

memoji lets discuss.png

I hope you enjoyed my first VLOG. Don't judge me too hard. 😉

Thanks for stopping in!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center