Vegvisir...

Never get lost... Or so the story about a Vegvisir goes. A Vegvisir is a magic stave from the days of the Vikings. It is meant to prevent whoever is carrying it from being lost. Especially in stormy or bad weather.

image

I've got a bit of a penchant for items with a Vegvisir on them as you can see in the photo. It's not that I get lost often, or encounter a lot of bad weather. Nor that I am particularly superstitious. I just like the design. I like the oldness. I like the mythology behind it. I like to think that someday long ago someone was carrying an item that had the design drawn or carved into it. It's a connection to the past, especially when it's on a silver bar or coin, I like that.

Despite all the amazing things we have in our modern day and the emergence of the blockchain, that will likely have an even bigger impact on our future than we know, I find it nice to have a thread or token that takes me back to a time long ago...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now